Yes, because there are more than 1 receiver and more than one defensive man
Offense-Holding/False Start Defense- Pass Interference/Offside
Yes. As long as you do not touch the receiver of the pass or block his/her's vision of the ball. If you do touch or 'face guard' the opponent then you will be called for pass interference.
An incompletion is a pass that is not caught by the offense or defense. A pass that is caught by the defense is called an interception. A pass that is caught by the offense is called a reception.
Automatic First DownThere shall be no interference with a forward pass thrown from behind the line, is one rule about interference. Defensive pass interference is called when a defensive player interferes with a receiver's attempt to catch the ball. If the defender makes contact with the receiver, it is pass interference, unless the contact is incidental, or done in order to make a play on the ball. For example the defensive player can knock the ball down, even if he has to contact the receiver to do it. But he cannot push the receiver, trip him, grab his arm, pull his shirt, etc. Typically referees will call pass interference if the defensive player makes contact with the receiver but is not looking back at the ball.When defensive pass interference is called, the offense receives an automatic first down, and the ball is placed where the interference occurred. If the interference occurs in the end zone, the ball is placed on the one yard line. Pass interference cannot be challenged once called.
In American football, when a defender catches a forward pass from the offense, it is called an interception.
Go On - 2012 Pass Interference 1-15 is rated/received certificates of: Netherlands:AL
It is in Tennessee, plus a 15 yard penalty. Just saw it called last night.
In general, interference is a deliberate act, with contact, to impede a receiver from catching a pass...or an act by a receiver to prevent defensing a pass (offensive pass interference). It is most often hitting or grabbing the receiver before the pass arrives, or a receiver shoving a defender away. If the pass has not been thrown when a defensive penalty occurs, the lesser penalty of illegal contact will apply instead. The rules are different in each level of play (high school, NCAA, NFL), as are the penalties applied.
Pass interference CAN be called on a fake punt, however the outside players in the "gunner" position cannot be interfered with. On any given punt play, those players are blocked by up to two players on the punt return team, and as such, any punt play in which the punter tossed it up to one of his gunners would result in an interference call. These players can draw penalties for holding against the punt return team, and interference is NOT allowed against other members of the punt unit.
its an interception