answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes. The ball is not declared dead on a walk. The batter could even attempt to steal second right away if he chose to.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-07-23 05:49:54
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can base runners steal when the batter walks?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If there was NO wild pitch and the batter receives a walk can he advance on to second base before the next pitch?

Not unless the next batter gets a walk as well. Runners can only move on base hits or walks.


How do you scorecard runners on base and batter is called out for missing a base?

force out


On an attempted squeeze play runner on 3rd base is trying to steal home batter is hit by the pitch is the runner entitled to score or is he asked to return to 3rd base?

When a batter gets hit by a pitch the runner or runners must go back to their base unless they have to move to forcefully move. now with a base on balls the runner can still steal the base


In slow pitch softball if the batter-runner is hit by his own batted ball while running to first base he is out can the runners on base advance or must they remain at their base?

batter is out, runners do not advance


Do the base runners have to run when the bases are loaded and the batter hits the ball but gets out before reaching first base?

Yes. Since the batter is forced to run to first base the other runners are forced to advance. However, once the batter is put out at first base the other runners may attempt to go back to their original base.


Can a batter get awarded first base on a balk if there the count has 3 balls and there are no runners on base?

No. A balk affects only runners and is called when there is at least one runner on base. The penalty for a balk is that all runners are allowed to advance one base. The batter is awarded nothing regardless of whether or not there are runners on base at the time of the balk. Incorrect...per MLB rule book...If a balkable offense is committed with no runners on base, a ball is awarded to the hitter.


With runners on base a balk is called does the batter get a ball called?

No. A balk only affects base runners. Each base runner gets to advance one base when a balk is called.


If you hit a ball to second base with runners on first and second base and both runners advance to the next base and the hitter gets thrown out is this a sacrifice?

No. A sacrifice is when the batter turns around to bunt and lets everyone on the defense know what they are going to do. The batter is 'sacrificing' (allowing the defense to get him/her out) so the runners can advance one base.


Pitcher fails to address batter while runners are on base?

In MLB, it is a balk.


Is it a sacrific if the batter bunts a ball with runners on first base and third base and is thrown out at first?

yes


Can you lead in baseball?

Yes, the runner can take a lead off the base in baseball. That is, you can step off the base a little in order to get an advantage when you steal a base, or when the batter hits the ball and you run. Today, almost all runners in baseball take a lead off the bag when they are on base.


If a batter is up and the pitcher balks if there is no runners on base does the batter get anything at all?

Yes, by rule the batter would receive a ball.

People also asked