answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

if he interferes with the runner that would be called obstruction

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-06-07 03:59:22
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a second baseman go in the base line of second when runner is coming from first?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

When there is a runner on first and the batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman should the first baseman throw the ball to second?

If the first baseman has time they should tag the runner. If the runner is already too far they should throw it. If the first baseman is close to first, they should step on first and then throw the ball to the shortstop at second. Note: Tagging first base first takes away the force out at second and the runner must then be tagged. They are also allowed to return to first base.


Who covers first on a bunt with a runner on first and a right handed batter?

second baseman


When there is a runner on first - the batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman who steps on first and then tags the runner who remains on first - Who is out?

If the first baseman tags first base, the runner originally on first is therefore not forced to second base and he is safe at first.


When was the first triple play in MLB?

The first recorded triple play was by the Hartford Dark Blues on May 13, 1876 in a game against the New York Mutuals. With runners on first and second the Mutuals tried a hit and run. The batter hit a hard line drive to the second baseman who caught the ball for out #1. The second baseman threw to the first baseman to double off the runner for out #2. The first baseman then threw back to the second baseman to catch the runner off second base for out #3.


Man at first ground ball first baseman tags first runner does not advance to second stays on first is this a double play?

If the runner remains standing on the bag when the 1st baseman touches the bag and the 1st baseman does not tag the runner prior to touching the bag, then the runner is safe and you have no double play. Answer To clarify, once the Batter becomes a batter-runner, the runner at first loses his right to occupy first base and is forced to advance. If he is tagged while standing on the base, he is out. If the first baseman then steps on first base the Batter-runner is also out -- Double Play. BUT, if the first baseman first steps on the base the batter-runner is out and the force is removed. If the runner standing on first base is now tagged he is safe.


Can the first baseman stand on first base while the runner is advancing to second on an extra base hit?

Yes, as long as he does not interfere with the base runner.


With less than two outs does the runner at first have to advance if the batter is forced out at first?

No. But this rule does not come into effect until AFTER the force out at first base occurs. In other words, until that force out at first happens, the runner who was on first must advance. But AFTER the force out occurs, the runner who was on first need not do so. If a first baseman steps on first and then immediately fires to second base, the person covering second base must tag out the runner coming towards second base. I've seen twenty-year veterans of MLB forget this -- they take the throw from the first baseman after a force out at first base, step on second base, and then walk away without tagging the runner.


If the bases are loaded and the force is at home plate are the other bases a force out or does the third baseman have to tag the runner?

Yes all the other bases are a force out. The runner going to first forces the runner at first to second. The runner at first forces the runner at second to third. The runner at second forces the runner at third to home. You only have to tag the runner when a runner that was "forcing" you (from a previous base) is out. In the scenario you have mentioned the only time the third baseman would have had to tag the runner from second to third would be if the initial force out was behind the runner at either at first or second (the putout thus not forcing the runner from second to third, which would now require a tag. If the initial force out was at first or second, the runner on second would have the choice of going to third or retreating to second, and not "forced" to run. Since the initial force out was at home, the runner from second to third is still being "forced" to run by the runners behind him. Make sense?


Can a first baseman be called for a balk?

Yes if he there is a runner on first and the first baseman has his foot is across foul line .


Runner hits the ball and takes off to first and the first baseman grabs the ball and attempts to tag the runner but the runner takes a step back to home plate. Is the runner considered out?

No the runner is not out unless the first baseman tags him, the first baseman touches the bag before the runner there, or the runner steps out of the baseline. The runner could go back and forth on the base path for as long as he can stay safe. So simply, no the runner is not out yet.


Does the runner need to be out in order to be a fielder's choice?

No, if there is a runner on first and the second baseman fields the ball and throws it to the shortstop, who muffs the play and allows both the runner and batter to advance/reach safely, the play would be ruled a fielder's choice and an error. It would still count as an at-bat and a non-hit for the batter, just as if the second-baseman had muffed the throw to the first-baseman with nobody on base.


Man on 1st with 1 out The ball is hit to 2nd then 2nd throws the ball to 1stbatter out The runner then runs to 2nd 1st baseman throws to second but runner retreats back to first then is tagged?

That would be a 4-3-6-3 Double play. The defense is labeled by numbers as so: 1- Pitcher 2- Catcher 3- First base 4- Second base 5- Third Base 6- Shortstop 7- Left field 8- Center field 9- Right field The second baseman would be starting the play(4), as the shortstop covers second to cut down the runner coming from first, the second baseman makes the out at first base (3), after the out is make the first baseman tries to make the out at second, with the shortstop covering (6), but as the runner retreats to first the shortstop throws him out, making the last out at first (3). All together, 4-3-6-3. However in most cases, the second baseman's first play should be to second, but as we all know in baseball things don't always go as planed.

People also asked