In MLB, yes. According to MLB rules, a foul tip is a ball that is tipped by the batter that goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. It is considered a swinging strike and not a foul ball.
He can advance, it's a live ball if caught sharply and directly.
Runner attempting a steal from first, or a runner caught returning to second base.
No stolen base awarded as the stolen base was uncontested.
If the player was stealing as the pitch was delivered, it is a steal. If, however, he leaves once the ball passes the catcher, it is not a steal. If a player is stealing, and there is a wild pitch allowwing the runner to reach third base, it would be a steal and a wild pitch.
yes, if it is a fly ball and it gets caught, any base runner can try to go to the next base. for example, a runner on third tags up on a fly ball. the right fielder catches it in foul territory. as long as the runner on third is on the base or goes back and touches it after leading off, she can try to steal home.
To steal home in baseball is 100% completely legal. More than likely, you wouldn't steal home unless it's on a squeeze or it's 2 outs, bases loaded, and there is a full count on the batter. One of the most common, and obvious, situations to steal home, is whenever there is a passed ball... make sure the backstop is large enough to ensure you being safe. Know your speed! -Cole.Grossi
No. You don't have to steal. But you do have to advance to the next base if a runner is about to occupy the base you just left from.
It depends. The rule of thumb is for the second baseman to cover the base if a right-handed hitter is at the plate; shortstop for a left-handed hitter. The logic goes that hitters are more likely to 'pull' the pitch and having the infielder from the other side cover gives a team better defensive coverage.
A courtesy runner is typically used for the pitcher or catcher, especially in games on a time limit.
Yes. The fielder covering the base does NOT have to tag the runner. The runner is forced out when the fielder steps on the base before the runner can make it back. Got that.
Throwing out the runner means that the batter hit the ball and a fielder fielded the ball and got the batter out running to first. It could also mean that the catcher threw the ball to second base when a girl was trying to steal and got her out. The same thing applies to third base.