technically a steal from third to home
Yes, if it just merely a dropped 3rd strike and he is safe, then he will be credited with a steal, however, if the pitch is ruled a passed ball or wild pitch, then the runner will not be credited with a stolen base, but rather just advancing on a passed ball/wild pitch
As soon as the runner touches home plate, the run scores. The following runner has the right to third base. Either the base coach or the following runner on third base should tell the runner who scored that it was not a foul ball and he should go to the dugout. The ball is still live.
yes, if it is a fly ball and it gets caught, any base runner can try to go to the next base. for example, a runner on third tags up on a fly ball. the right fielder catches it in foul territory. as long as the runner on third is on the base or goes back and touches it after leading off, she can try to steal home.
not unless the bases are loaded, creating a force at home for the runner on third otherwise the runner must be tagged to be put out
The runner may retouch home and go back to third before the ball reaches the base.
he should thorw it to home.
Anytime a batter is walked it does not count as an at bat
It would be a ground rule double and the runner from first would go to third base and the hitter would go to second.
Yes. A foul fly ball is no different than a fair fly ball. The runner at third can tag up and try for home after the catch and the defense can try to throw the runner out at third if she is not paying attention.
steal of home
Is there is no such thing as a 'safety' in baseball. The only reference to 'safety' in baseball is the 'safety squeeze'. There are two types of 'squeeze' plays - a safety squeeze and a suicide squeeze. Generally, a squeeze play occurs with a runner on third with less than two outs and the batter bunts the ball. The idea is that if the runner on third can get a good enough jump as the pitcher is delivering the ball and batter bunts the ball on the ground and far enough away from home plate, the defense will not be able to throw out the runner at home and the offense essentially 'steals' a run. Now - for a 'suicide' squeeze the runner on third immediately sprints towards home as soon as the pitcher starts his windup (identical to trying to steal home). If the batter is able to lay down a bunt, this runner will likely score because of the jump that he was able to get. However, if the batter is unable to bunt the ball (he misses or pops up) then the runner at third will definitely be tagged out. For a safety squeeze, the runner at third does not start his sprint towards home until he sees the batter bunt the ball. This has the advantage of allowing the batter to miss or look at a pitch without creating a situation where the runner on third will definitely be out. However, it has the disadvantage of the runner getting a very slow start towards home and even if the batter bunts the ball well, it is still likely that he will be thrown out at home by a good defensive play. Of note, the 'safety' squeeze is rarely used in major league baseball because the poor jump by the runner at third combined with the talented defensives almost guarntee failure. However, in other leagues - high school, college - the safety squeeze is more common.
A "pickle" in softball is when a runner is trapped in between two defensive players throwing the ball back and forth. The most common pickle occurs at home plate when a runner tries to steal home. The catcher will throw to the third baseman and she will then throw it back to the catcher. Honestly, the only way for the runner to end up being safe when in a pickle is if one of the defensive players drops the ball. Hope this helped
Yes. The game is in play unless someone call time out. Any runner can still advance although if forced, the runner on first or the runners on first and second get free passes. The batter can take his time going to first but all other runners are in play. That's why you never see a catcher trying to catch a the runner going from 1st to second on a steal because on ball 4, if there's an error on the throw, everyone can still advance.
No... The base runner is never called out when the ball is thrown and hits the runner ...
You can just run home on a play, steal home, tag up, or be walked home (If the pitcher walks someone on loaded bases)
Technically you can steal home if the ball goes behind the catcher or something. You can attempt to steal home if the catcher is there but it wouldn't be the smartest thing to do because they would just tag you out. /// The above answer is completely wrong. Of course you can steal home! If there is a passed ball or wild pitch-- that isn't a steal, that's scoring on an error!// A steal of home is exciting, but rarely done in modern baseball. In contrast, Ty Cobb stole home 54 times! The classic or "pure" steal is where the runner steals with no help from the batter. For example, if the runner notices the pitcher is not holding him close and/or the 3rd baseman is way off the bag, the runner can get a walking lead or a large secondary lead and then take off as the pitcher is still winding up and then try to score. The element of surprise often makes this successful. Note that there are 28 ways or situations in which a runner on 3rd can score in baseball. This is just 1 of them.
in little league you have to wait for the ball to cross home plate but every level after little league you can steal at any time you want to no matter who has the ball or where the pitcher is or what he is doing.
Past ball, the player scores on a hit or on a sacrifice fly ball, tag up on a hard it fly ball in the out field, a delayed steal, etc.
I would say the runner is called out (would be Out #2) and the runner on third could advance to score. However, if there were two outs, the runner would be called out (Out #3) and therefore, the runner on 3rd would not be able to score (unless of course he crossed home plate before the runner got hit by the ground ball, then it would count)
Presumption - you mean "Does the run count if the runner crosses home before the THIRD out is committed?" It depends on the nature of the third out. If the out is a force out (e.g. fly ball out, out on an appeal, or force out at a base the runner must advance) then the run does not count. If the third out of an inning is a non-force play where the runner does not have to advance (e.g. a runner stretching a single into a double is thrown out at 2nd), then the run counts if the scoring runner reaches the plate prior to the out being made.
Yes. They would be out. Think of it like this. If a runner is running home from third and the catcher slides onto the plate with the ball, the runner is still out, even though the catcher is on the ground. As long as the Defensive player has possession of the ball, and is touching the base, the offensive player would be considered out.