answersLogoWhite

0

No. If the runner doesn't cross the first base/right field line they cannot be considered attempting to go to second base.

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago

What else can I help you with?

Related Questions

If a runner who was called out on the infield fly rule passes the runner on first is it a double play?

No, it is not. The batter is immediately out, and he can have no further affect on the play, unless he interferes with a fielder attempting to make a play or assists one of the runners on base.


What happens if there is an infield fly rule with a runner on first only?

If there is an infield fly rule with a runner on first only, the batter is automatically out, regardless of whether the ball is caught or dropped by the fielder. The runner on first can advance at their own risk after the ball is caught or lands.


Why is there no infield fly rule when there is a runner on first base?

The infield fly rule is not in effect when there is a runner on first base because the purpose of the rule is to prevent the defense from intentionally dropping a pop-up to get a double play. With a runner on first, there is no opportunity for a double play, so the rule is not needed.


If a runner is thrown out attempting a triple is the runner credited with a double?

Yes.


How can a triple play occur without any fielder touching the ball after it leaves the pitcher's hand?

Runners on first and second. Batter pops it up and is out due to the infield fly rule. The runner on first passes the runner on second and is out. The remaining runner is hit by the pop fly. Unassisted triple play.


With runners on first and second how can a triple play occur without the fielder touching the ball and to which mlb team has this occured?

The batter hits a pop-fly making him out due to the infield fly rule. The runner on first passes the runner on second and the ball hits the runner on second. I dont know who it happened to.


Is it scored as a fielders choice if the infield attempt to throw the runner at second out is unsuccessful?

Nope. It's a stolen base.


How do you score a runner that advances a base but not scoring a run after tagging up when the batter had a fly out?

The only other way I can think of that a runner would score from a fly-out without tagging up would be when the fielder catches the fly ball and then throws it into the infield and the infielder doesn't catch the ball properly, allowing the runner to advance home on an error.


What happens when a fly ball hit to the first baseman is dropped with a runner on first base?

Nothing in your situation. Only maybe if there is less than two outs and at least another runner on second. If there is less than two outs, the infield fly rule applies. The runner should stay on first base. The batsman would be out anyway. That is the purpose of the infield fly rule. It was put in when Ty Cobb had a similar situation. He was playing short stop. There were runners on first and second. A batter hit a pop up toward him. He yelled, "I got it." The runners stayed on first and second. He dropped the ball. Tagged the runner on second. Stepped on the base, and threw the ball to first for a triple play. Then baseball put in the infield fly rule. If there is a popup in the infield with zero or 1 outs, and runners on base that would be forced out, the batter is out and the runner should not advance.


Is a running out at second base on a infield fly rule if the ball hits the runner while standing on the base?

No, as long as he is on the base he is safe


What is the ruling where the runner interferes with a fielder trying to catch an Infield Fly Rule Pop-up?

The runner is also out and the ball is dead. All runners go back to previous bases.


When the infield fly rule is invoked can a runner be forced out when returning to his original base?

No, when the infield fly rule is invoked, runners cannot be forced out when returning to their original base. The rule is designed to protect the offense from the defense taking advantage of a caught fly ball in an infield situation. If the ball is declared an infield fly, the runners can advance at their discretion, and they cannot be forced out for returning to a base they previously occupied.