answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No. After ball four is thrown to the batter it is a base on balls. The batter is entitled to first base, and any base runner forced ahead may advance. Even if the runner on first is attempting to steal on the pitch, he is awarded second base and cannot be thrown out.

Of course the runner from first is award second base, but is only protected up to the base. If he overruns or overslides the second base because in his steal attempt he was not paying attention, he can be tagged out if he is off the bag.

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2010-06-14 19:36:32
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a runner on first base be thrown out if he is attempting to steal second base on ball four?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If there are two outs in the inning and there is a person on second with a full count and he steals and the batter walks can the runner get thrown out at third?

The runner on second base can be thrown out provided that first base is empty


when a runner on second base ground ball to third base and the batter is thrown out at first?

Runner stays on second base if he is smart. That is a 5 to 3 out.


What is agood time for a high school catcher to throw a softball to second base?

Runner attempting a steal from first, or a runner caught returning to second base.


After an infield single and a wild throw can the runner be tagged out for attempting to go to second without crossing the first base line?

No. If the runner doesn't cross the first base/right field line they cannot be considered attempting to go to second base.


Is it a base hit when you get thrown out at second base when a runner advances to home?

It is a base hit once the batter-baserunner passes first base. This will not change by being thrown out at second.


Can you get 6 hits and no runs?

yes, single, single and the runner is thrown out trying to advance from first to third, 1 out, single and the runner is thrown out trying to advance to third, 2 out, single runner to 2nd, single runners to second and third, a line drive to left and they throw the runner out going to second but it is ruled a single.


With a runner on first base the pitcher overthrows ball to first where should the runner be awarded?

The runner isn't awarded anything. If the fielder can get the ball in time, the runner can still be thrown out at second. The runner is only awarded if the ball is thrown out of the playing field, such as the dugout or the stands. It is then declared a dead ball and is treated like a ground-rule double; The runner receives his extra base.


Does the run count when a batter bunts and the runner on third scores before the first baseman tags the batter for the third out?

No, because the third out was made on the same play. It is no different than if the batter hits a ground ball to the shortstop or any other infielder and is thrown out at first base for the third out. However, if there are two outs and there is a runner on third and the batter hits a single into left field but is thrown out at second when attempting to turn the play into a double and the runner on third makes it home before the third out at second is recorded, the run does count. Hope that isn't too confusing.


Does a runner on first have to advance on a ground ball?

Actually it is possible for a runner on first not to advance on a ground ball, though it is very unlikely. If the hitter is thrown out at first base on a force play before the runner on first is thrown out, he can return to first base if at all possible.


How would you score this if the batter hits a ball the drops in center field but the runner at first is thrown out at second?

If the runner at second is out by being forced out, the batter is not given a base hit .... the play is ruled the same as if the ball was hit to an infielder that threw to second to force the runner. If the runner at second is out by being tagged because they rounded the base too far, the batter is given a base hit.


Does a runner from third score on a sac fly if a runner from first is thrown out trying to get back to first because he did not tag up and is the third out?

no


Does run on third on third count Runners on first and third one out fly ball caught in outfield runner on third tags runner on first leaves early ball is thrown to first for inning ending double play?

first base was a force out so the run shouldn't count, As an example if the runner on first had tagged and tried to take second base and was thrown out after the run scored then the run would stand, because the base runner put themselves in jeopardy of being put out

People also asked