Best Answer

once the runner leaves the field and enters the dugout they are considered out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

2011-04-22 05:17:15
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a runner go to the dugout and then return to the base?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

If a base runner touches a base and a following runner touches a base and the following runner is out can the proceding runner retun to the same base the following runner touched?

you wouldn't want to go back to a base you already touched ---------- ...but if it was an open base, the runner could return to it, but it would be a pretty strange thing to do..........Yes he can go either way but if he passed a base like 3rd and wants to go back to 2nd he must retouch 3rd to go to 2nd. when your out your out of live play unless you interfere

How many bases does runner get on an overthrow of first base?

It depends how far away the ball is from the fielder and how fast the runner is but the usual is 1 Like Martin said, it depends. If the ball is overthrown at first and goes past the fence or into the dugout, the runner will get to advance one base. If he is taking off for second before the ball goes under the fence or into the dugout, he will not get to go to third UNLESS he has already touched second by the time the ball goes out of play. Now, if the ball is overthrown at first and DOES NOT go out of play, the runner may advance as many as he wants but the fielders can get him out.

Runner at third base goes home and touches home plate on a fair batted ball After touching the plate he hears someone say it was foul so he retreats to 3bA runner made it to third on the batted ball?

As soon as the runner touches home plate, the run scores. The following runner has the right to third base. Either the base coach or the following runner on third base should tell the runner who scored that it was not a foul ball and he should go to the dugout. The ball is still live.

On an attempted squeeze play runner on 3rd base is trying to steal home batter is hit by the pitch is the runner entitled to score or is he asked to return to 3rd base?

When a batter gets hit by a pitch the runner or runners must go back to their base unless they have to move to forcefully move. now with a base on balls the runner can still steal the base

Should a base runner re-tag after each pitch?

NO, a runner does not have to go back and touch the base after every pitch

If the runner rounds first base and then wants to go back and the person with the ball tags the base is he out?

No, in that situation the person with the ball would have to tag the runner for the runner to be out.

When is a base runner forced to run?

When a runner is on a base that a batter or another base runner is required to run to, the former is forced to run to the next base. Two examples and a counter-example: 1) A runner begins the play on first base, and the ball is batted fair. Since the batter is required to go to first base, the runner that began on that base is forced to go to second base, and remains required to do so until the batter is out. 2) Runners begin the play on first base and on second base, and the ball is batted fair. As noted in example (1), the runner on first base is forced to go to second. Thus, the runner that began on second is now forced to go to third base. If either the batter or the runner that began on first base become out, then this requirement is cancelled. 3) A runner begins the play on third base, and the ball is batted fair. The runner MAY advance from third towards home, but is not FORCED to do so. That's because the batter is only required to run to first, and there is no requirement that the runner on third leave his base.

How many bases does the runner get on a overthrown baseball?

For an overthrown ball that winds up out of play (in the stands or dugout), each runner may advance one base. If an overthrown ball does not go out of play but is kicked out of play or by some other means is put out of play, runners may advance two bases. This very, very rarely occurs but lets say there is a routine ground ball to the shortstop and he makes a poor throw to first base that gets by the first baseman and comes to rest in front of the dugout. The catcher runs over to retrieve the ball and, in his haste, kicks the ball into the dugout. In this case, runners may advance two bases.

Can a runner who missed a base go back a tag after another runner has scored?

only if he's black.

Can you go back a touch a base you missed after an overthrow?

FULL DISCUSSION OF RULE FOLLOWS If a base runner fails to properly tag a base, the runner can be ruled out if a fielder later (ie, before the next pitch) touches that base while holding the ball. You may notice fielders attempting to have a runner called out by doing this -- after all, there is no penalty for asking. You may also note that the umpire will give no indication of his judgement until the fielder attempts to have the runner called out -- and almost invariably the umpire will rule that the runner is safe. A base runner may, at any time (overthrow or not), return to a base and ensure that he has properly touched it. However, he may also be tagged out while doing so -- thus, most runners figure (correctly) that they are more likely to be called out by returning to the base than by simply continuing to run. If a base runner decides to return to a base to ensure he has touched it, AFTER having touched another base, he must ALSO touch that later base before returning to the base originally missed. For example, if a runner decides, while coming into third base, that he needs to return to first base to ensure he touched the latter, he MUST touch second base BEFORE he returns to first base. As one can imagine, most runners simply hope no fielder noticed his mistake.

Can other runners advance when another runner is hit with a batted ball?

One answer:No - the runners may not advance beyond where they were - or more specifically, where they were about to go - at the time. A batted ball that hits a runner is a "dead ball."Another answer:If, however, the batted ball first touched a defensive player or umpire prior to being touched by the runner, the runner is not out and the ball is live. If the umpire calls interference on the runner, the ball is dead, the batter is awarded first base, and all runners return to the base they last occupied at the beginning of the play (not to the base they were about to go to at the time).

Can you go back and touch a base you missed after a following runner has scored?


People also asked