answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes. If the batter is walked and the 4th ball is a wild pitch or passed ball, the batter may attempt to take an extra base.There is no rule in Baseball that requires a batter that is walked to stop at 1st base.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2007-05-25 17:36:53
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a runner advance to second base if he was walked?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

In Cal Ripken League baseball a runner is on second base with first base unoccupied the batter is walked can the runner on second advance to third base?

I'll be honest that I'm unaware of the rules specific to the league, but generally speaking, a batter-runner advances on a walk only when he is forced to do so by a trailing batter-runner. If a runner chooses to advance when not forced to do so, he is allowed, but is liable for being tagged out as if he were stealing a base.


What does ''advance the runner'' mean?

In baseball "advance the runner" is a term used to say get a runner on base to move forward to another base.


Do runners have to advance on a ground ball?

That depends on whether a runner is forced to vacate a base when a ground ball is hit. If there is a runner on first base and a ground ball is hit, the runner is forced to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. If there is also a runner on second base, that runner is forced to run to third because the runner from first is running to second. If a runner is not forced to run, they do not have to. If there are runners on first base and third base and a ground ball is hit, the runner at first is forced to run to second because the batter is running to first. But the runner on third is not forced to run because no runner is running to third base from second base.


What is a lead runner?

The lead runner is the runner at the base closest to home plate when there is more than one runner on base. If there are runners on second base and third base, the runner on third base is the lead runner. If there are runners on first and second, the runner on second is the lead runner. If there is only one runner on base, there is no lead runner.


When can a runner on base advance on a foul ball?

No.


If there is a runner on second why do you throw to first and get the batter out and let the second base runner advance to third?

The out to third is more risky, and you might end up with two men on vs an easy out.


Why does a second baseman have to tag a base stealer?

Any time a runner is not forced to advance to the next base, the defensiver player must tag the runner. If a runner is attempting to steal 2nd, either the 2nd baseman or the shortstop must tag the runner.


In little league can a batter advance to second base on a walk if the pitcher is on the rubber with the ball?

No. If the pitcher is on the mound and the runner runs to second they will be considered out.


Hit to right side go to third from second base?

I think this question is referring to hitting behind a baserunner to advance them? With a runner on second base if a hitter can hit the ball on the ground to the right side of the infield the runner on second base should be able to advance to third because the obvious play is to first for the out. Like a sacrifice, but not entirely, because there is a chance for a basehit.


Can a runner on first base be thrown out if he is attempting to steal second base on ball four?

No. After ball four is thrown to the batter it is a base on balls. The batter is entitled to first base, and any base runner forced ahead may advance. Even if the runner on first is attempting to steal on the pitch, he is awarded second base and cannot be thrown out. Of course the runner from first is award second base, but is only protected up to the base. If he overruns or overslides the second base because in his steal attempt he was not paying attention, he can be tagged out if he is off the bag.


Runner on base advance after a fly ball catch in foul territory?

yes, but runner must not advance to next base until ball is caught by defensive player.


When a foul ball is hit does a base runner occupying second base have to return and touch that base?

The base runner can not advance on a foul ball, he must return to the base he was at before the foul ball was hit. A base runner may advance on a caught foul ball, but must tag up and advance only after the ball is touched by a defensive player. To answer your original question, yes, all base runners must return to the base they occupied prior to the foul, and must touch that base before play is continued.

People also asked