answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes , the pawn has the power and ability to place the opponent's king in check .

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2014-04-14 20:58:22
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Can you castle through check

What is the notation of kingside castling

What is step 1

โžก๏ธ
See all cards
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
No Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a pawn check the king in chess?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

In chess can a pawn capture a king?

No, a pawn can not check or checkmate a king.


Can a king kill a pawn in chess?

Absolutely, as long as it does not put the king in check.


Can a pawn capture a King in the game of chess?

Technically, the king is never actually "captured" in chess. That said, a pawn can certainly be used to put a king in "check", though unless the pawn is protected by some other piece the king can simply capture the pawn on its next move.


Can a pawn kill a king if the king moves in to the position with out calling check?

According to the rules of chess, you cannot move your own king into the check position.


What will you get when pawn goes to kings place in chess?

The Pawn can then be promoted to any chess piece other than the King .


Can a pawn and king trade squares in the game of chess?

No.


Can a pawn check a king?

Yes, a pawn can put a king into check.


In the game of chess if it is not a king can it kill a king?

In chess, any piece may capture any other piece except the king, which can only be checkmated (in check with no square to escape). Even the lowly pawn can checkmate the King.


In chess when a piece crosses the chess board do you get your queen back?

Only the pawn can be promoted to another chess piece once the pawn reaches the 8th rank . The pawn can not be promoted to a king .The rules only allow the pawn to be promoted upon the eighth rank . At that time the pawn can then be promoted to a queen or any other chess piece with the sole exception of the king .


In chess can a pawn capture a queen?

Yes, a pawn may capture any piece on the board as long as it is a legal move. One way it could happen is the pawn is blocking lets say a Bishop or a Rook from attacking the opponent's king. The pawn moves to a square where it attacks the Queen. Normally the Queen would either just capture the pawn or move away from it. But if the move of the pawn now places the king in check from that Bishop or Rook (this is called a discovered check) the King must move out of check. If the player now in check has no alternative but to move the King out of check, then once he moves the king, the pawn is free to capture the Queen.


What is a check in a chess game?

A check in chess is when your opponent's king is in danger.


What is it called in chess when it is your opponets turn but he can't move because the king is in check if he moves but he only has two pieces king and pawn and his pawn can't move or attack?

If you or your opponent cannot make any legal move and the king is NOT in check, it is called stalemate and the game is a draw.

People also asked