answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

A direct free kick would be awarded to the opposing team.

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2010-04-24 14:55:52
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a goalie touch the ball outside the penalty area?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

When can players cross line after goalie kicks?

The opposing team must remain outside of the penalty area during the taking of a goal kick. No player may touch the ball until it leaves the penalty area.


Can a soccer goalie pick up a ball in the penalty area when his feet are outside?

yes


Can the goalie touch the ball with their hand?

Yes. The goal keeper can touch the ball with their hands when inside their own penalty area.


What happens if you touch the ball but you are goalie?

A goal keeper is allowed to touch the ball with their hands when the ball is inside their own penalty area. If a goal keeper does so outside of the area, then a direct free kick is awarded to the opposing team.


Can a goalkeeper inside the penalty area use his hand to touch a ball outside the penalty area?

No. It doesn't matter where the goalkeeper is.The ballmust be in the penalty area (on the line is inside) for the keeper to touch it.


Can a soccer goalie touch the ball in the offensive zone?

No. The goal keeper may only touch the ball with their hands in their own penalty area.


In soccer is the goalie the only one allowed to touch the ball with his or her hands?

Yes, but only in his own penalty area.


Where can the goalie legally touch the ball with their hands?

If the ball is in his own penalty area and it was not kicked or thrown directly to him by a team-mate.


Can a goalie use his hands while inside the penalty area?

Only within their own penalty area.


Can the goalie hold the ball outside the 18-yard box area off the ground?

If the ball is completely outside of the penalty area then the goal keeper may not touch it with his hands. Doing so will result in a direct free kick for the opposition at the location of the touch, just like any other player. Where the goal keeper's body is at the moment of the touch does not matter.


Can a soccer goalie grab the ball when it is outside the penalty area if he is standing inside the penalty area?

No. It would be determined to be deliberate handling and a direct free kick would be awarded at the spot of the touch. If the referee decided it was a tactical decision by the keeper then it could also be misconduct including, in some cases, a send off.


Can a goalie play the ball with their hands if the ball is inside the penalty box but their feet are outside the penalty box?

Yes, the goalie is allowed to handle the ball as long as the ball remains in the marked area. I.E. If the goalie slides to get a ball, and slides out of the penalty box, but the ball remains inside, it is still as if he/she had just picked it up standing inside the box. Hope it helps!

People also asked