answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

In short, no.

A goal kick is not complete (the ball in not yet in play) until the whole of the ball crosses the whole of the penalty area line and into the field of play. If the goalkeeper touches the ball before it completely leaves the penalty area, the goal kick must be retaken. If the goalkeeper touches the ball with his hands after the ball has left the penalty area and become "in-play", then he is guilty of a handling infraction because the ball is not within the keeper's own penalty area anymore. Either the ball is still in the penalty area or it isn't; it can't be both.

This is all without even considering the fact that a goalkeeper cannot handle a ball that has been intentionally kicked to him by a teammate, the so-called "pass-back" rule.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

No, the only place a goalkeeper may handle the ball is in his own penalty area.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago

if it was not a pass back then he's allowed

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a goal keeper go in to the other team's penalty area and pick the ball up?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

May a goal keeper step out of the penalty area?

No. Only in the penalty area may the goal keeper handle the ball.


What can the goal keeper do that is different from other players?

With two exceptions, a goal keeper may deliberately handle the ball within their own penalty area.


In soccer is a goal keeper considered a defender when the keeper comes out of the box?

The goal keeper is always considered a defender, if he is in or out of the penalty area.


How can a soccer goal keeper score a goal?

most of the time when a goal keeper takes the penalty shot but sometimes when the goal keeper of the other team is so much above his field or area the goal keeper may kick the ball from goal to the other goal.


Can a goalkeeper inside the penalty area use his hand to touch a ball outside the penalty area?

No. It doesn't matter where the goalkeeper is.The ballmust be in the penalty area (on the line is inside) for the keeper to touch it.


During a penalty kick in soccer what players may be inside the penalty area?

The kicker and the defending goal keeper.


May a goalkeeper touch the ball with is hand when standing on the edge of the penalty area?

As long as the ball is inside their penalty area a goal keeper may handle the ball. The position of the ball is important. The position of the goal keeper is not.


What is the penalty arc in soccer?

It is an arc that is drawn outside of the penalty area with a radius of ten yards and the center being the penalty mark. (Note: the mark is only 6 yards from the edge of the penalty area area) Whenever a penalty kick is taken all players, except the kicker and the goal keeper, must be outside of the penalty area, at least ten yards from the mark, and not closer to the goal line than the mark. Other than the taking of penalty kicks, it has no other function.


Soccer rules after using the feet then picking it up with hes hand back pass?

I'm going to assume that you are asking about a ball that is deliberately kicked back to the goalkeeper by a teammate, then picked up. If the keeper touches the ball with his hands outside of the penalty area (the "18"), the offense is handling and the other team is awarded a direct kick from the spot where the keeper first touched the ball with his hands. If the keeper touches the ball with his hands inside the penalty area but outside the goal area (the "6"), the offense is goalkeeper handling and the other team is awarded an indirect kick from the spot where the keeper first touched the ball with his hands. If the keeper touches the ball with his hands inside the goal area, the other team is awarded an indirect free kick from the spot on the goal area line nearest where the ball was first touched by the keeper.


Can a goalkeeper in soccer come out of his area and go to midfield and have the ball and kick it to the other goal and score?

A goal keeper may play as any other player. He only has special privileges within his own penalty area.


Can a keeper run up to the penalty box throw the ball forward leave the penalty area and kick it further?

Yes. The goalkeeper may leave the penalty area at any time during play, but cannot touch the ball with his hands while outside of the area.


Can goalkeeper hold the ball in the semi circle outside the 18 area?

No because it will be classed as handball and the other team will get a free kick.