answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If the passed ball was a result of strike three (with fewer than 2 outs), and first base is unoccupied, the batter can ATTEMPT to run to first base before being thrown out by the catcher. (He is not ENTITLED to first base).

He is entitled to first base if the pitch was ball four, whether the ball is a passed ball or not.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-10-01 13:12:27
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a batter run to first on a passed ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Does a batter get an RBI if a runner scores on a passed ball if the batter then singles?

No, a batter will not receive a RBI in the event of a baserunner scoring a run on a passed ball. The batter will have to hit a batted ball in order to score a baserunner. Hitting after a passed ball will not be counted as a run scoring play regardless of the following outcome of the batter's at-bat.


Does a dropped third strike scoring a runner from third give the batter an RBI?

The batter would not be given an RBI, it would be scored a run on a passed ball. If it was a passed ball it would be an unearned run, if it was a wild pitch then it would be an earned run. However, neither pitchers or catchers are given errors on wild pitches or passed balls


If a player reaches base on a passed ball and later scores is it an earned run or unearned?

The only way a runner can reach on a passed ball is if he strikes out, and the 3rd strike gets away from the catcher. Since the batter struck out, he should not have reached based, although no errors are charged the run if he later scores is an unearned run See MLB Rule 10.18 Earned Runs. No earned run if batter reaches on passed ball. A wild pitch is the pitcher's fault and contributes to the earned run.


Is a run scorees on a passed ball is it considered an earned run?

A run scored on a passed ball is unearned.


If there is a runner in first base and the batter strikes out swinging and the ball hits the ground pass the catcher is the batter automatically out?

With one out or no outs the batter is out. With two outs the batter may run to first.


Does a batter get an RBI for an in the park home run if there is an error on the play?

If a batter gets a hit and circles the bases because of an error it is not considered an inside the park home run. He would not get a RBI but, he would get credit for a run scored. Depending on what base he just passed when the error occured would identify what type of hit it was. E.g. A batter hits a ball down the first base line. It goes all the way to the outfield corner. When the right fielder gets to the ball the batter is rounding second and heading to third. The right fielder throws the ball in wide to the third basemen(as the batter is sliding into third)it gets by him. The batter scores. The right fielder gets an one base error and the batter geta a triple with a run scored. I !


Runner on third two outs batter is out at first on an infield ground ball does the run count?

no the run does not count


What if a Runner doesnt run to first after hitting ball?

Simply the batter will get thrown out if the batter does not take a base ...NOTE : On a two (2) out situation NO run(s) count as a run till the batter takes a base ...


Can you earn an RBI on a pass ball?

No, it is not an RBI. a passed ball is basically an error on the catcher and you don't credit RBI's when error's occur. This answer is basicly true in regards to the passed ball, however , a batter can be credited with an RBI on an error, if, in the official scorers judgment the runner or runners would have scored anyway had the error not occured. For example: Runner on third, less than two outs, batter hits ground ball to an infielder who was playing back..infielder commits an error fielding the ball, or throws it wild to first..in the scorers opinion had the infielder fielded the ball cleanly, or not thrown wild to first, the run would have scored anyway. The batter is credited with an RBI.


Catcher drops glove with ball still inside on third strike is batter out?

the batter has a strike out but the catcher glove dropping is the same a the ball dropping and thebatter will run to first ... which the catcher will throw the ball to for the put out ... It is a strikeout, but the batter is not out until he is either tagged out by the catcher, or the ball is thrown to first for the put out, or the batter leaves the home plate area to return to the dugout.


Who does the catcher throw to after a strikeout?

The catcher throws to thr pitcher or if he misses the ball he throws it first to get tjr batter out because if if the batter strikes out and the catcher misses the ball the runner can run.


In little league the ball hits the ground then the batter?

The batter should run to 1st base as fast as she/he can if they miss the ball you can run to 2nd base


Does a walk after a strikeout passed ball with bases loaded count as earned run?

The question is confusing, but I'll try to answer it. If a pitcher strikes out a batter but the ball gets past the catcher, both the batter and all base runners may attempt to advance to the next base. The batter must advance to first, thus he put out on a force play at first. All other base runners who must advance on this play (ie, someone on first, or those on first and second) can also be forced out at the base they must advance to. Thus, if the bases are loaded on such a play, all runners must advance, and the runner on third could also be forced out at home. It's because of this fact, that the batter may ONLY advance to first after a dropped third strike when there are no runner force outs possible OR there are two outs. Otherwise, a catcher would "accidentally" drop the ball on a third strike in order to get a double play. Thus, if the bases are loaded and there is a passed ball on a third strike, the batter is out UNLESS there are already two outs. In that latter case, all runners must advance to the next base. A force-out at any base -- including home -- would end the inning with no runs. If the batter and all runners reach base safely (ie, the runner on third comes home), that would be an UNearned run because a runner scored on a passed ball. It would be unearned if the runner on third scored on a passed ball after a third strike or not -- runs are unearned if they result from the play of a fielder instead of the pitcher. One last thing -- if a fielder's play SHOULD have resulted in a third out, but doesn't, then ALL subsequent runs in that inning are unearned. In the batter gets to first on a passed ball on a third strike that should have been the third out, and the next batter gets a home run, then both runs are unearned. If the bizarre scenario I noted above -- dropped third strike on a passed ball with bases loaded with everyone safe (which MUST happen with two outs) -- occurred, and the next batter walked (also with bases loaded) thus getting another run, then that second run would also be unearned.


Is it possible to strike out but still get to first base?

In Major League Baseball, yes. There is a rule called the 'Uncaught Third Strike' rule. This rule states that if the catcher does not cleanly catch the pitched ball that results in a third strike, the batter may run to first base as if the ball were hit. If the batter reaches first base before the ball, the batter is awarded the base.


Does a batter get credit for an RBI on an infield ground ball when he is thrown out at first with the bases loaded and a run scores?

Yes, The Batter is counted an RBI for every run he bats in regardless of whether he was safe or not.


If a player is hit by the pitch and later scores is the run earned or unearned?

Depends on what happened in the inning prior to and after the batter is hit. Assuming that no errors or passed balls occur, the run will be scored an earned run. If the inning is extended by an error, or the runner scores because of an error or passed ball, the run would be unearned.


Is it a earned run if a batter swings and misses a wild pitch on a third strike and he later scores?

If the batter reaches base as the result of a Wild Pitch, and he later scores, it would be an Earned Run. However, if he reaches base as the result of a Passed Ball, and he later scores, it would be an Unearned Run.


Do runners have to advance on a ground ball?

That depends on whether a runner is forced to vacate a base when a ground ball is hit. If there is a runner on first base and a ground ball is hit, the runner is forced to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. If there is also a runner on second base, that runner is forced to run to third because the runner from first is running to second. If a runner is not forced to run, they do not have to. If there are runners on first base and third base and a ground ball is hit, the runner at first is forced to run to second because the batter is running to first. But the runner on third is not forced to run because no runner is running to third base from second base.


What is the differecne between a tag play and a force play in softball?

A tag play is when it is required to tag a base runner to get them out. A force play is when it is required to have possession of the ball and touch the base to get the base runner out. By definition, a force play is in effect when a base runner is 'forced' to run to the next base because of the ball being hit and another runner being 'forced' to run to the base that the runner currently occupies. If there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a ground ball to third base, the runner on first base is 'forced' to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. In this case, a force play is in effect at second base (and at first base because a batter is always 'forced' to run to first base after hitting a fair ball. A force play is always in effect at first base when a batter hits a fair ball.). If there is a runner only on second base and the batter hits a ball to first base, the runner at second is not 'forced' to run to third base because no one is 'forced' to run to second base. In this case, a tag play is in effect at third base if the runner at second attempts to advance.


Is the batter out when a dropped third strike goes into fair territory and hits the batter attempting to run to first base?

Only if, in the judgment of the umpire, the batter made deliberate contact with the ball.


What happens in rounders when a batter hits the ball behind them?

you can only run to first base after it back over the line


If a batter is tagged out going to first are all other runners forced to run?

no, if there's a runner on first base and the batter gets a strike-out but the catcher drop the ball. he's out because of the runner on first base.


Runner on first pop up to shortstop he catches the ball and then throws the ball out of play with runner on first Where does the runner go?

He stays at first, the shortstop caught the ball and so the batter is out, therefore no one can run. The runner can run from first once he/she has 'tagged up'. Tagged up means that the runner touched first base after the defensive player has caught the ball.


When a runner is on first base and there is two outs and the batter strikes out and the catcher drops the ball can the batter run to first base?

Yes, with two outs the uncaught third strike rule is not in effect.


Bases loaded nobody out Batter hits a ball and the side is retired making three outs Nobody on the defensive team touches the ball How?

The lead runners could all have been passed by the batter before any of them touched the plate after the batter hit a home run. The three lead runners would all be called out.