answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

yes, he trying to tell him/her goodjob or telling them what to do

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-04-29 21:50:01
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a base coach touch a runner who is occupying a base?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

If a runner runs into the base coach at third base is it coach interference?

Yes, it is coach's interference if, in the judgment of the umpire, the base coach at 3rd base, or at 1st base, by touching or holding the runner, physically assists him in returning to or leaving first or third base.


When a foul ball is hit does a base runner occupying second base have to return and touch that base?

The base runner can not advance on a foul ball, he must return to the base he was at before the foul ball was hit. A base runner may advance on a caught foul ball, but must tag up and advance only after the ball is touched by a defensive player. To answer your original question, yes, all base runners must return to the base they occupied prior to the foul, and must touch that base before play is continued.


Is runner out or safe if base coach touches runner when ball in play?

Runner is out. No. The rule reads the runner is out if physically assisted by the coach. Simply touching the runner is nothing.


In MLB does the baseman need to touch the base to get the runner out?

If it is a force (i.e. there are people on all the bases behind the runner) play, then yes, the baseman needs to touch the base to get the runner out. If the runner is not required to move to that base, then the baseman must tag the runner to get him out. The baseman does not NEED to touch the base to record the out. The defense may tag the runner OR the bag.


What happens if a runner comes in contact with the third base coach while rounding the bases?

As long as the coach does not assist the runner, there is no penalty.


Does the runner need to touch the base?

yes the batter must touch the base or he will called out


When a player is on first or third can the coach be out of the box?

The 1st base coach can never be out of the coach's box. The 3rd base coach can only be out of his box when the ball is hit and there is a runner on or advancing to 3rd base.


Can a base coach yell instructions to a runner?

Yes


Two runners occupying third base can a runner go back to second?

The second runner can, assuming he hasn't crossed in front of the lead runner. If he does that, they are both called out.


Can a base runner touch another base runner?

Yes. No problem. However, a base runner can neither pass another runner nor may he assist the other runner in running the bases.


Can a base coach make contact with a runner when the ball is live?

No.


When you are a runner at first base do you have to run on a ground ball?

Yes, because the hitter is running to first base. If you are still there, you'll both be on a base. That means you are both out. Both runner and batter are not out. The fielder will need to tag either 2nd base for the force out or tag both players occupying 1st. If both players are occupying 1st and both are tagged while standing on first the runner that should have gone to 2nd will be out.


Should a base runner re-tag after each pitch?

NO, a runner does not have to go back and touch the base after every pitch


If on a fielders choice the 2nd baseman doesn't touch the base can the runner be out?

If the runner gets tagged, then he is out. If the base doesn't get stepped on or the runner gets tagged, then he is safe.


When a foul ball is hit does the base runner have to touch the base?

Yes. He must tag the base.


If a runner is hit with the ball by a miss throw by to the second base man is the runner out?

No. To force an out, the defensive player has to touch the runner with the ball or touch the runner with the glove while the ball is in the glove. A thrown ball touching a runner does not count.


When must a base runner be tagged in softball?

When there isn't a runner behind them forcing them to run. For example, if a runner is on 2nd base but there is no one on 1st base, the runner must be tagged on their way to 3rd in order to get them out. However, if there IS a runner on 1st, the 3rd baseman can simply touch the base because it is a force out.


Is it a hit if a base runner misses first base?

yes it is a hit, but they can still be out if a defender taps either the base or the runner before he can "get safe" on base. It's the same thing as if a runner hit a bunt, they can still get out until they actually touch the base.


Does a fielder have to step on the base before making a tag out on the runner?

No, the fielder does NOT have to touch the base before tagging a runner out. The fielder only touches the base on a forced play.


Is scoring out of order in baseball OK?

No. You can't even touch a base out of order. If you pass a runner (and touch the next base before he does) you are out.


What is the base that baseball runner must touch?

The pitchers mound


When the defense does not have to tag the runner they just have to touch the base?

Force out


Can the third base coach leave the coaches box to wave a runner home and if yes how far?

No the base coaches should never leave the box, it may cause interference and make the base runner out.


Can you go back and touch a base you missed after a following runner has scored?

No


When the runner must run and all the fielder needs to do is touch the base is what?

an out