answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The pitchers mound

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-10-06 12:16:50
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is the base that baseball runner must touch?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Does the runner need to touch the base?

yes the batter must touch the base or he will called out


In MLB does the baseman need to touch the base to get the runner out?

If it is a force (i.e. there are people on all the bases behind the runner) play, then yes, the baseman needs to touch the base to get the runner out. If the runner is not required to move to that base, then the baseman must tag the runner to get him out. The baseman does not NEED to touch the base to record the out. The defense may tag the runner OR the bag.


When a foul ball is hit does the base runner have to touch the base?

Yes. He must tag the base.


When must a base runner be tagged in softball?

When there isn't a runner behind them forcing them to run. For example, if a runner is on 2nd base but there is no one on 1st base, the runner must be tagged on their way to 3rd in order to get them out. However, if there IS a runner on 1st, the 3rd baseman can simply touch the base because it is a force out.


When the runner must run and all the fielder needs to do is touch the base is what?

an out


When in baseball do the fielders need to tag the runner out?

Not always. If a fielder is in possession of the ball AND in physical contact to a base that a base runner must run, then that base runner is out.


When a foul ball is hit does a base runner occupying second base have to return and touch that base?

The base runner can not advance on a foul ball, he must return to the base he was at before the foul ball was hit. A base runner may advance on a caught foul ball, but must tag up and advance only after the ball is touched by a defensive player. To answer your original question, yes, all base runners must return to the base they occupied prior to the foul, and must touch that base before play is continued.


What must happen to a base runner to be called out?

a fielder must have the ball in their glove or hand and touch ( or tag) the base runner He could also get out if he were to leave a base early before the next batter has hit he ball :) Mo Fo


What if Two player are on the same base at the same time?

In baseball? This is not allowed. The lead runner must attempt to advance to the next base; if it is tagged with the ball before the runner reaches it that runner is out.


Does the runner need to touch the base on every pitch?

Actually there is no rule in the Major League Rules that the runner has to touch base after each pitch. He must after a foul ball or caught fly ball. Even though runners in almost all leagues do touch after each pitch including the major's it is not a rule in Official Rules: 7.00 The Runner that he must: (See related Link)


In softball a runner already occupies 1st then ball is thrown OB so 1st base runner awarded third base on a dead ball but runner goes directly to third without touching 2nd base so is the runner out?

The rules state that runners must advance by legally touching each base in succession. In this case, the runner must touch 2B before advancing to 3B, and if she does not, she can be called out on appeal.


During a bases loaded walk if the batter fails to touch first base on a base on balls does the runner on third base score?

If there are fewer than two outs, yes. If there are two outs, both the runner on third and the batter must touch their respective bases for the run to count.


If a base runner and the ball reach the base at the same time on a force play is the runner safe or out?

MLB rules state the ball must beat the runner to the base on a force play. If the ball and the runner reach the base at the same time the runner would be considered safe. However, there are no ties in baseball. The runner either gets there before the ball or after...Ties are only a myth.....


If it is not forced out what must happen to a base runner to be called out in softball?

the fielder must tag the base runner


Are you safe or out if you touch first the same time the ball is caught?

You are out: MLB official rules state that the runner must touch the base before the ball is caught.


In baseball can a runner on second run back to first while the runner on first goes to second?

NO. Base runner's must run the bases in the order they batted. If a runner overtakes another runner, he is automatically out.


Can you tag the base with your bare hand with the ball in your glove?

The official rules state that a fielder need only hold a ball in his hand and touch a base. If the runner is forced to that base and the fielder touches the base while he is holding the ball, he is out. It does not say he has to step on the base. It just says he has to touch it. The runner, on the other hand, must be tagged with the hand that holds the ball.


Can a baserunner run past second base and then return to first base?

A runner can return to first base, however, they must touch second base on their way back. If they fail to touch second base (and run directly to first base without re-tagging second base) they can be called out on appeal. Appeals work as follows: the pitcher takes the mound with the ball, toes the rubber and then steps off and throws the ball to the base the runner did not tag. When the fielder steps on the base the umpire - if they were paying attention - will then call the runner who is now on first base out. ensue.


During play can a runner touch second base and then return to first base?

Yes they can and if they have passed 2nd for example on a deep hit fly that is caught they must touch 2nd again on their way back to 1st. If they fail to do so when they touch 1st base they are out no matter what the defense has done with the ball at that point.


In baseball a base runner can usually get to a base quicker by running than by sliding explain why this is so why slid then?

When a throw is made to a base where there is no force out, the throw has to be catchable to avoid the runner taking more bases on an overthrow or an error. So a throw must be placed some distance above the ground for the position player to make a play on the ball. This gives the base runner the opportunity to slide under the throw and touch the base with either his hand or foot. So I guess in short a slide is intended to get under the throw.


Can the catcher touch the batter while throwing to 3RD base?

The catcher is allowed to touch the batter while throwing to any base. However, the batter must not move into the catcher's path. If the batter does and the catcher makes contact with the batter, it is called as Interference. If Interference is called during a steal attempt, the runner must go back to their original base.


When can a baseman tag the base for an out?

There are two situations when a baseman can tag the base for an out.The first is the force out. A force out happens when a baseman tags the base of the only possible location for the runner. For example, if a batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman, the first baseman only needs to tag first base because it is the runner's only possible destination. Also, if there was a runner on first base and a ground ball was hit, there would be a force out at both second and first base because they runner on first base would be forced to progress one base. With a man on first and second base, you can force at first, second and third, and with the bases loaded, there is a force at every base. If there is a runner on second and/or third, but not first, the runners are not required to progress one base, so there is only a force at first.The second is on the fly ball. If a fly ball is caught, a base runner must touch the base again ("tag up") before moving on to the next base. If they do not tag up after the ball is caught, the baseman at the base from which they left can tag that base for the out. For example, if there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a fly ball, and that ball is caught, the runner must touch the base after the ball is caught before he can leave for the next base. If he doesn't touch the base after the ball is caught, the baseman only need tag the base while holding the ball for the out.


Can you go back a touch a base you missed after an overthrow?

FULL DISCUSSION OF RULE FOLLOWS If a base runner fails to properly tag a base, the runner can be ruled out if a fielder later (ie, before the next pitch) touches that base while holding the ball. You may notice fielders attempting to have a runner called out by doing this -- after all, there is no penalty for asking. You may also note that the umpire will give no indication of his judgement until the fielder attempts to have the runner called out -- and almost invariably the umpire will rule that the runner is safe. A base runner may, at any time (overthrow or not), return to a base and ensure that he has properly touched it. However, he may also be tagged out while doing so -- thus, most runners figure (correctly) that they are more likely to be called out by returning to the base than by simply continuing to run. If a base runner decides to return to a base to ensure he has touched it, AFTER having touched another base, he must ALSO touch that later base before returning to the base originally missed. For example, if a runner decides, while coming into third base, that he needs to return to first base to ensure he touched the latter, he MUST touch second base BEFORE he returns to first base. As one can imagine, most runners simply hope no fielder noticed his mistake.


Why does a second baseman have to tag a base stealer?

Any time a runner is not forced to advance to the next base, the defensiver player must tag the runner. If a runner is attempting to steal 2nd, either the 2nd baseman or the shortstop must tag the runner.


Is a base runner out if he leaves first base after being called safe?

In both baseball and softball, a runner is allowed to touch first base and keep on running and then come back to first base. He stays in foul territory. Then he comes back. The umpire calls him safe as long as he gets to the base before the ball does. In both baseball and softball, he comes back to the base. In baseball, he can leave the base, in softball he can not. In softball, he must be on the base while the pitcher has the ball until the ball is almost over home plate. In baseball, he can start running at anytime. If he starts too soon, the catcher can signal him to throw the ball to the first baseman and if the ball gets there, the first baseman will tag him out. It is called a pick off.