answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If the batter makes contact with a batted ball while in the batter's box, it is a "dead" ball and declared foul. ---------- True enough, sort of. If a batted ball touches the batter while he is still in the batter's box, then it is foul. However, if the batter hits the ball, and it comes to rest in the batter's box or the batted ball is touched by a defensivce player while it is in the batter's box, and the ball did not touch the batter, it is either fair or foul, depending on the position of the ball at the time it came to rest or was touched by a defensive player. The front portion of the batter's box is in fair territory, and if a batted ball comes to rest or is touched by a defensive player in that part of the batter's box, then it's a fair ball.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

The batter is out.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Batter hits the ball with one foot out of the batters box?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

A batter is in the batters box the pitcher throws and the batter hits the ball into his foot and the ball goes foul but what is the call?

its a dead ball and a strike, but not strike 3, just like a foul.


What is the penalty for a batter standing with one foot outside the batters box in little league?

In Little League, the batter is out if they hit the ball with one foot completely out of the batter's box. There is no penalty if they don't hit the ball. There could be a penalty on the pitcher if the reason the batter has a foot out of the box is because the batter didn't finish stepping into the box. A quick pitch is an illegal pitch which counts as a ball.


If the pitcher hits the batters hand with the ball is the batter awarded a base?

yes


Who gets the putout when a batter hits the ball but he is out of the batters box and does the pitcher get a strike out?

The batter is out, scored 2u, not a strike out.


Little league ball is hit and bounces back toward batter it hits batters helmet and goes out of bounds Is the batter out?

If the baseball hit the ground in foul territory, the ball is a foul ball. If the baseball hit the ground in fair territory, and the batter/runner is still in the batter's box when the baseball hits him, it is a foul ball. If the baseball hit the ground in fair territory and the batter/runner is out of the batter's box when the baseball hits him, the batter/runner is out and the ball is dead.


Is the Batter out if he bunts the ball fair with his foot touching the line of the Batter Boxs in baseball?

MLB rule 6.06 states: A batter is out for illegal action when- He hits a ball with one or both feet on the ground entirely outside the batter's box. Comment: If a batter hits a ball fair or foul while out of the batter's box, he shall be called out.


Batter hits a pitch and the ball bounces and hits the batter is he out?

it depends on the situation. If the count is two strikes then it is an out because if the batter is insied the box then it is a fould ball and a two strike foul ball on a bunt attempt is an out. If there is one strike or zero strikes then the batter can be called out or a foul ball. If he is still in the batter's box and the ball touches him then it is a fould ball but if the batter is outside the batter's box and the ball touches him, then he is out.


Is a batter out when hitting the ball foul with a foot touching home plate?

MLB Rule 6.06a states pretty clearly: "A batter is out for illegal action when (a) He hits a ball with one or both feet on the ground entirely outside the batter’s box." The question would be whether the batter's feet are "entirely" outside the batters box. I suppose if his toes were touching home plate but the rest of his feet were not, then that would not be "entirely" outside.


Is it scored a strike out for the batter if he is hit in fair territory by his own batted ball?

If the batter is still in the batters box, it is a foul ball, otherwise, the batter will be ruled out, and it is a dead ball with runners returning to their bases This is wrong, if the ball hits the bat a second time in fair territory the batter is out, standing in the batters box means nothing in this rule. see MLB rule 6.05 h


In rounders what happens if you step out of the batting box on a no ball are you out?

If a batter hits a ball fair or foul while either foot is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter's box or while touching the plate. The ball becomes dead immediately. The batter is out.


What is the rule when a batter hits a ball then the ball hits the batter and there are runners in first and second baseis this a dead ball or live?

it is a foul.


Is the batter out if a batted ball hits him as he's running to first base?

If the batter is outside the batter's box, and is in fair territory when the ball hits them, then yes they are out. If they are in the box, or in foul territory when the ball hits them, it is just a foul ball.