answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer
One Answer:This is called a balk i believe Another Answer:In MLB, there are some rules that, upon violation by the pitcher, the umpire can award a "ball" to the batter. So, theoretically, if the pitcher violates these rules 4 times in succession, the batter would be awarded first base without a pitch being thrown. Note: the batter is not awarded a "ball" when the pitcher balks, nor is he awarded first base; this may have been the rule years ago, but it is not the rule today.

Also, some youth and recreational leagues have a rule that, if a pitcher intentionally walks a batter, the next batter has the choice of being awarded first base or of taking his normal time at bat.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-03-19 00:06:48
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: A pitcher faces a batter no pitch is thrown yet the batter goes to first base?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What happens when a batter has thrown four balls?

If you mean pitcher, then the batter walks to first base.


Can a pitcher be relieved after a pitch but before the batter is either out or places the ball in play?

Yes. Either the pitcher or the batter may be substituted for at any point in the at-bat. Only if it is not the first hitter that pitcher is facing, if it is the first batter he faces, he must pitch the entire at-bat unless injured, then he may be removed from the game


Is it legal to switch pitchers during an at bat?

Yes, there is no restriction on changing pitchers during an at bat, unless the current pitcher just entered the game and the batter is the first batter he faces. The pitcher must face at least one batter before he can be replaced, unless the pitcher is injured, or ejected from the game.


Is a batter out if hit by a thrown ball on the way to first?

No


What if pitcher hits batter?

If the pitcher hits the batter on a pitch then the batter is awarded first base. However if the batter swings at the ball and it hits her then it is a strike


What are four examples from softball in which and object is in projectile motion?

-- the ball, thrown over the plate by the pitcher -- the bat, illegally thrown by the batter before beginning his run to first base -- the outfielder's glove, thrown into the air after the last out in the ninth -- the cup of beer, thrown onto the field by a fan in the bleachers


Who was the first Colorado pitcher to throw a no hitter?

Through the 2008 season, no Rockies pitcher has thrown a no-hitter.


What is the least number of pitches a pitcher can throw in a baseball game?

Zero. If a pitcher delays the pitch or if the pitcher does an illegal move the umpire is to award the batter a ball. Done 4 consecutive times the batter is awarded 1st base. If then the Pitcher picks the runner off, the first out is recorded with no pitch being thrown. Also if a batter delays the umpire is to issue the batter a strike done three consecutive times the batter would be called out. So it is possible to record an out with no pitch being thrown. Repeat for each out of each inning. Likely the answer that is being looked for is one pitch for each out of th game 27.


Can a runner score on a dropped third strike if the batter is out at first?

Yes, as long as the batter thrown out at first is not the third out of the inning.


In base ballcan you bring in a relief pitcher in the middle of a count?

Yes, you can. The only exception is for the first batter of the game and for the first batter to be faced by a reliever. According to Rule 3.05(a), the starting pitcher shall pitch to the first batter or any substitute batter until such batter is put out or reaches first base, unless the pitcher sustains injury or illness which, in the judgment of the umpire-in-chief, incapacitates him from pitching. And according to Rule 3.05(b), if the pitcher is replaced, the substitute pitcher shall pitch to the batter then at bat, or any substitute batter, until such batter is put out or reaches first base, or until the offensive team is put out, unless the substitute pitcher sustains injury or illness which, in the umpire-in-chief's judgment, incapacitates him for further play as a pitcher.


Can a pitcher be taken out while batter has a count?

Yes, a pitcher may be replaced at any time with one exception. That exception isifthe pitcher has just entered the game and the batter is the first batter he is pitching to. The rule states a pitcher must pitch one full at bat and applies to both starting and relief pitchers. Of course, if the pitcher suffers an injury the umpires can rule that he may be replaced regardless of whether the batter is the first batter the pitcher is pitching to.


Is it a plate appearance if the batter gets thrown out but a runner scores from third base?

It depends on what the count on the batter is when he is thrown out. If there are 2 strikes on the batter and his substitute gets struck out, the at-bat is contributed to the first batter. Otherwise, all stats will be awarded to the substitute batter.

People also asked