Best Answer

San Francisco 49ers fullback Joe Perry in 1954.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-11-11 21:38:47
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

What is Juneteenth

Why did they name it Juneteenth

When did Juneteenth start

How many states recognize Juneteenth as a state holiday

See all cards
23 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Who was the first african-american to win the NFL MVP award?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Who was the first rookie to win the NFL mvp award?


Did Jim Brown ever win the NFL MVP award?

When did Jim Brown win an NFL MVP award

Will Tom Brady be the 2010 mvp?

He did win the NFL 2010 MVP award

What player won mvp award and super bowl mvp award in the same year nfl?

Emmitt Smith

Who won the 2000 mvp award for the nfl?


Who won the 1996 NFL MVP award?

Brett Farve

How Many times has Peyton Manning won the MVP Award?

As of January 9, 2010, he has won the NFL MVP award 4 times.

What years did Brett Favre win the MVP award?

Favre won the NFL MVP award in 1995, 1996, and 1997. In 1997, he tied with Barry Sanders for the award.

Who was the only NFL MVP kicker?

== == Mark Moseley of the Redskins is the only place kicker to win the NFL MVP award. The year was 1982.

Who was the last player to win the Heisman Trophy and the NFL MVP award?

Barry Sanders ... won the Heisman in 1988 and the NFL MVP in 1997.

Did Dan Marino ever win the MVP award in the NFL?


Who was the first Pro Bowl MVP?

The first NFL Pro Bowl MVP award went to Otto Graham, the quarterback of the Cleveland Browns. The Pro Bowl was first played in 1938. Then it was referred to as the Pro All-Star Game. There were no MVP awards for the first 5 All-Star Games. Due to World War II, the last Pro All-Star game was played in 1942. The NFL did not revive the game until 1950, when it was dubbed the Pro Bowl. That was when Otto Graham won the MVP award. In the 1956 season, the MVP award was split into two categories. The NFL awarded MVP honors to a Lineman and a Back. This Co-MVP pattern was utilized thru the 1970 season. In 1971 the NFL opted for an offensive and defensive MVP award. That lasted for just one game. In the Modern day NFL, after the NFL/AFL merger in 1970, the winners of the MVP awards were: Back: Cornerback Mel Renfro of the Dallas Cowboys ; Lineman: Linebacker Freddy Carr of the Green Bay Packers.

People also asked