Best Answer

The White Queen is placed upon the D1 white square whereas the Black Queen is placed at the D8 black square . The correct orientation, as per the Chess rules, is with a black square on your left side as facing the chess board. One of the more common mistakes in setting up the chess board is reversing the king and queen chess pieces. Remember, as per the chess rules, the queen is always on her own color while the king is always on the opposite color .

You can look to the link below for further information regarding the Queen in chess .

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

Whichever square the pawn promoted on would be where the new queen is placed.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

The queen is placed at the point/square of promotion .

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

It goes where the pawn left off.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Were do you place the queen after promoting from a pawn on the board?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

How do you tell which pawn is a queen?

Whenever a pawn reaches the 8th rank (the end of the board opposite that on which you started) you can promote that pawn. This means that you trade out that pawn for any piece you want. Note that it doesn't have to be a piece you've already lost during the could have two queens out at the same time if you want. While in most cases it is best to "queen" your pawn, it is sometimes beneficial to "underpromote", or promote your pawn to a piece weaker than a queen. This is often done to a knight, since it's the one piece who can move in ways the queen can't. It also is sometimes worth promoting to a rook, in cases where promoting to a queen would put the opposing king in stalemate.

What is it called when a pawn reaches the other side of the chess board?

When a pawn reaches the other side of the board it can be exchanged for any other piece except a king. The choice is not limited to pieces that have been captured. This means that a person can get another queen for every pawn that reaches the other side and have several queens at the same time.

Can you reclaim another queen with a pawn in chess if you queeen is still in place.?

If one of your pawns reaches the other end of the board you may trade that pawn for any chess piece you have lost.

Chess if a pawn gets to the end of the chess board get you get a new queen if you already have one?

Once a pawn reaches the last rank the pawn can be promoted to any piece except the king . Yes , if you already have a queen the pawn can be promoted to another queen .

In chess when a pawn crosses the chess board do you get your queen back?

In chess, when a pawn has crossed the board and reaches the last rank, that pawn is promoted. In promotion, the promoting player can claim any piece he wishes. It doesn't matter what he has or doesn't have on the board at the time. This sets the stage for more than one queen or more than two rooks, two bishops or two knights of the same color to be on the board at one time. If you had lost your queen previously, then you can "get your queen back" as asked. It is unusual for a player promoting a pawn to claim anything but a queen. The queen can do anything a rook or bishop can do, and might actually be said to "combine" the moves of both pieces. But there are rare cases where is it of benefit to ask for a knight, as this piece cannot be blocked when it attacks. In what is called under-promotion, the player might elect to take something other than the queen. Such a tactic might allow a player to increase his ability to attack without creating a stalemate because of a positional situation. As stated, the player promoting a pawn has choice of pieces, and must select either queen, rook, bishop or knight.

In chess can a bishop turn into a queen?

No. Only a pawn may "turn into a queen." The proper terminology for when a pawn reaches the other side of the board is "promoting." The pawn is promoted to queen or to any other piece you wish to choose. There is a well known game where one player's pawn reached the other side, but due to the unique placement of the remaining pieces on the board, if the pawn were promoted to queen, the game would have ended in an immediate stalemate. So the player chose to promote the pawn to a knight, which, again due to the unique placement of the pieces, immediately checkmated the enemy king.Now, if you prefer to say "turn into a queen", then by all means exercise your freedom of speech and say it that way. Chess is, after all, just a game.

When a queen is brought back on to the board where does it go?

When a pawn is promoted to Queen , or any other piece besides the King , the square upon which the pawn was promoted is where the Queen will be placed .

When promoting a pawn to a bishop in chess what color does it become?

When promoting a pawn in chess, it stays the same color it was to start with.

in chess why is a queen better than a pawn?

The queen can move farther and in much more ways than any other piece on the board.

What are the facilities in chess?

It is simple, Chess board with pawn, rock, bishop, horse, queen, and king and of course a referee.

When a pawn reaches the end of the board does the exchanged piece start in its original place or where the pawn is?

The replacement piece , or the newly promoted chessman , is placed upon the square where the pawn reached the end of the board . ~ Look to the related link below for additional information regarding promotion .

When you get a pawn to the end of the board can you make it any piece you want?

No. The player has the choice to pick whatever piece they want. As the queen is the most powerful piece, they usually pick that, but they don't have to. So a pawn doesn't automatically change into a queen on reaching the end of the board.