answersLogoWhite

0

Sure, as long as he keeps it in his hand while fielding the ball.

Rule 7.05 states:

Each runner including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out, advance-

(b) Three bases, if a fielder deliberately touches a fair ball with his cap, mask or any part of his uniform detached from its proper place on his person

(d) Two bases, if a fielder deliberately touches a thrown ball with his cap, mask or any part of his uniform detached from its proper place on his person

In other words, if a fielder intentionally touches a batted ball with his cap while it is in his hand, all runners, including the batter, advance three bases (ie, every runner on base scores) from where they were when the infraction occurs.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

BlakeBlake
As your older brother, I've been where you are—maybe not exactly, but close enough.
Chat with Blake
LaoLao
The path is yours to walk; I am only here to hold up a mirror.
Chat with Lao
RossRoss
Every question is just a happy little opportunity.
Chat with Ross
More answers

hitter is awarded 3 bases

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What would happen if a player fielded the ball with his cap?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp