Best Answer

I bet you didn't know this! You probably think that the original six were Montreal, Toronto, Boston, New York, Chicago and Detroit right? Wrong! Those teams hadn't been invented yet except for Montreal because they won the first Stanley cup. There were actually 5 teams in 1917. They were Montreal Canadiens, Montreal Wanderers, Toronto Arenas, Ottawa Senators and Quebec Bulldogs. I am not joking. Quebec ran bankrupt and the Wanderers arena got burned down! So in a way, there were the original three, Toronto, Montreal and Ottawa. But to answer your question, in the late 20's, they had added on 7 teams which were; Montreal Maroons, Boston Bruins, Detroit Cougars which were the latest non-NHL team to win the Stanley cup, Chicago Black Hawks, New York Rangers, New York Americans and Pittsburgh Pirates. Then the great depression took place and alot of teams that you probably havn't heard of went bankrupt.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What hockey teams were made after the original six?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What were the earliest hockey teams?

The earliest hockey teams were called the original six and wereBoston_BruinsChicago_BlackhawksDetroit_Red_WingsMontreal_CanadiensNew_York_RangersToronto Maple Leafs

Original hockey teams?

the original six teams are: Toronto, Detroit, Montreal, Boston, New York rangers, and the Chicago blackhawks

Who were the original hockey teams?

the time period of the original six was from 1917-1967

What teams are the original 6?

The Original Six is a term for the group of six teams that made up the National Hockey League (NHL) for the 25 seasons between the 1942-43 season and the 1967 NHL Expansion. These six teams are the Boston Bruins, Chicago Black Hawks, Detroit Red Wings, Montreal Canadiens, New York Rangers, and the Toronto Maple Leafs.

How many teams are in the Western Collegiate Hockey League?

The league is made up of six teams from the Western United States.

When were the original six teams formed?

The "Original Six" refers to the teams that made up the NHL before the first major expansion in the 1960's. Actually, the term "Original Six" is somewhat misleading as it implies that the NHL was always made up of six teams prior to expansion in 1967. When the New York Americans folded at the end of the 1941/42 season, it left the league with six teams and it remained that way until expansion. Prior to 1942, the NHL had varying numbers of teams as members, not just the so-called "Original Six".

What year did the original 6 hockey teams start and end?

From what I remember the original six(Toronto,Chicago,Boston,Detroit,NewYork,Montreal) was in a period between 1942-1967

Who of the Original Six NHL hockey teams were first to win the Stanley Cup?

As a member of the Original Six, along with 1942 being the most widely accepted as the year beginning the Original Six era, it was the Detroit Red Wings. Resources: YAAAAAAAAAAAA! 11 STANLEY CUPS! TAKE THAT PITTSBURGH!

When did hockey become a part of the Olympics?

Field hockey was introduced at the Summer Olympic Games as a men's competition at the 1908 Games in London with six teams

How many NHL hockey teams in 1959-65?

During the years of 1959-1965, the NHL was comprised of the Original Six (Boston Bruins, Chicago Black Hawks, Detroit Red Wings, Montreal Canadiens, New York Rangers, and Toronto Maple Leafs). The Original Six period lasted from 1942 until 1967, when an additional six teams were added. Those teams were the Pittsburgh Penguins, LA Kings, Philadelphia Flyers, St. Louis Blues, Minnesota North Stars, and the California Seals.

What are the six violations in floor hockey?

There are more than six (6) rule violations regarding floor hockey. Icing, offsides, checking, roughing, boarding, tripping, fighting, high sticking, delay of game, and cursing at the officials are just a few examples.

Which nhl player played for the most of the original six teams?

Ron Stewart