answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No. In a standard ground out double play, where all outs are force outs, no runs can score on the play. If however the force was removed before completing the double play -- for example the out was achieved at first base and then another runner was tagged out -- then the run counts assuming the runner crossed the plate before the third out was recorded.

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago

of course not

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Rule on double play with bases loaded?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What would the final score be if a team is down by one and has a player hit a ground rule double in the bottom of the ninth with the bases loaded?

THE SCORE WOULD BE A TIE! Two runs would score on the play and the batter's team would win by one run.


What is the ruling if the batter passes second base and play is ruled a ground rule double?

On a ground rule double, the batter is awarded second base and all runners advance two bases. The ball is dead.


Bases loaded no outs batter hits into a triple play with no defenders touching the ball how does this happen?

Over the fence hit and three players out on appeal for missing bases.


Can you play baseball with three players?

Well on Defence you can play with three people, there can be someone at 1st, 3rd, and someone playing in front of 2nd base. On offence you can not play because if the bases are loaded nobody can hit


What does GIDP stand for in baseball stats?

Double plays initiated by a batter hitting a ground ball (but not a fly ball or line drive) are recorded in the official statistic GIDP (Grounded Into a Double Play), an indicator of one form of batting ineptitude. Should a run score on a play in which a batter hits into a double play (the first-and-third or bases loaded, none-out situation), official rules of scoring deny the batter credit for an RBI, although the batter always gets credit for an RBI on a one-out groundout or a fielder's choice play in which a baserunner scores.


Bases with double C-N rings?

Adenine & Guanine


Should you cover 2nd base if the bases are loaded?

Depends, If the game is almost over, and its a close came, then you should play infield in. However, if its early in the game, you should play your regular position.


If a ball hits the foul pole or the netting inside on a bounce but stays in play is it all you can get or a ground rule double?

no its a dead ball for hitting the foul pole, ground rule double


If the bases are loaded with 1 out and a ground ball is hit to the 1st baseman and the 1st baseman makes an error is it an earned run?

No, it would be listed as an unearned run.  A double-play is never assumed but a force play (at home or first) would be especially if the official scorer gave him an error (which basically means that the out should have been made).


When did the infield fly rule stop?

The infield fly rule still applies, and is in effect when the following situations are met: 1. Fewer than two outs 2. A fly ball is hit that an infielder can reasonably catch (umpires discretion) 3. There are runners on 1st and 2nd, or bases are loaded. 4. When the above conditions are met, the umpire will verbally call "infield fly rule" as soon as it is determined the ball is an infield fly. The batter is automatically out, and the runners do not have to advance, even is the ball is dropped. Note: This rule was established to prevent fielders from purposely dropping a fly ball to attempt a double play.


What is considered the infield in baseball?

I believe this is instituted with a runner on base so that the infielder can't just let the ball drop in front of him and then turn a double play. The infield fly rule protects the runner already on base by calling the batter out immediately. The infield fly rule: A fair fly ball which can be caught by an infielder with ordinary effort with less than two outs and 1st and 2nd base, or all bases are occupied. The umpire shall signal the batter out immediatly so as to alert the baserunners. The object of this rule is to prevent infielders to purposely let a ball drop to get an easy double or triple play. As has been noted, the purpose of this rule is to prevent the defensive team from getting an easy double or triple play. To understand this better, consider what would happen in this situation if there were no infield fly rule, in other words, what did happen, on many occasions, before the rule was created. Braves v Dodgers, Braves batting, no outs, bases loaded. Braves batter hits a pop-up that can be easily caught by the Dodgers pitcher in fair territory. Catching the ball would result in one out. But, the runners cannot advance until they know whether the ball will be caught. A devious catcher might just let the ball drop untouched, then pick it up, step on home plate (runner at third out), then throw to third, where the third baseman steps on the bag (runner on second out), then throw to second, where the second baseman steps on the bag (runner on first out), completing a triple play. Now, the Braves COULD employ a different strategy, sending all runners to the next base as soon as the ball is hit. But, in this case, the fielder would actually CATCH the ball, and still be able to turn a triple play, by catching two of the runners off their bases without tagging up. So there is no effective strategy to prevent a triple play (or double play if runners only on first and second) on an infield fly. Or is there? Turns out, there was no need to adopt the infield fly rule, if the offense was as sly as the defense was. All runners would immediately return to their bases. The batter would immediately take off for first, and then turn toward second base. In the process, he would, of course, pass the runner who stayed at first. By rule, the batter is immediately out for passing a runner who should be ahead of him. Also by rule, this removes the force on the other runners, making it impossible to turn a double or triple play (so long as the runners remain on their respective bases). This would have exactly the same effect as an infield fly rule, right down to the irrelevance of whether the ball is actually caught or not. So, the infield fly rule is not necessary.


If the bases are loaded AND there is a 8-5-4 double play does the run score?

It is what is referred to as a "timing play." If the runner touched home before the third out was made on the double play, the run counts. In high school baseball, with the two umpire system, the two umpires will remind each other beforehand by tapping their left wrist (where they would be wearing a wrist watch.) This gives each of them a reminder and heads up that a possible timing play may be needed and they have to pay close attention as to exactly when the runner touches the plate.