No, a timeout can not be called until the player with the ball is down or out of bounds.
A trip.
You tackle the ball, not a player.
No. In Professional Football, in order to be "down" a receiver has to be tackled or in your scenario touched by a defensive player while on the ground.
Once a player is tackled in football, the play is stopped, and the ball is marked at the spot where the tackle occurred. The offensive team then has a set number of downs, usually four, to advance the ball at least ten yards for a new set of downs. If they fail to do so, possession of the ball may be turned over to the opposing team. After a tackle, the game resumes with a new play initiated by the offensive team.
Receives the ball from the center, and either runs with it or passes it to another player. And they get tackled. A lot.
any player on the offensive team
I would imagine this is (offensive coordinator) A coach Not a player
In the game of American football, an offensive lineman is a player who is primarily responsible for blocking.
Reception
American Football...
Either the referees will call a dead ball or the defender tackles him on the field. Sometimes it's pretty rough when a guy gets tackled.
It's when an offensive player blocks and knocks over a defender.