The rules concerning when a player is 'down' are different between College Football and the NFL. In the NFL, a player must be 'down by contact' for the play to end, therefore, if he were to recover a fumble while on his knees he would be able to get up and run with it as long as a member of the opposing team did not touch him while his knee(s) were on the ground. There is no 'down by contact' rule in college football. Once a player in possession of the ball has a knee (or elbow) touch the ground the play is over. The player would not be allowed to get up and run in college ball.
You can advance a fumble during a football game at any time, as long as you are the player who recovers the fumble.
Yes, if an offensive player fumbles the ball after gaining positive yardage and another player from the same team recovers the fumble and advances the ball, that player is credited with rushing yards. The yards gained from the point of the fumble recovery to where the play is whistled dead count as rushing yards for the player who recovered the fumble. This is because the play is considered a continuation of the rushing attempt, despite the fumble.
When a player advances a fumble in the NFL, it means they pick up the loose ball and run with it. If the player who recovers the fumble advances it into the opponent's end zone and scores a touchdown, the team gets possession of the ball at the spot of the recovery.
In the NFL, a fumble recovery occurs when a player gains possession of the ball after it has been dropped or lost by the opposing team. The player who recovers the fumble can advance the ball, and possession is awarded to the recovering team. If the fumble occurs in the end zone, it can result in a touchdown or a touchback.
If the offense recovers the fumble and advances it beyond the original first down line, yes, it is a first down. If the ball is not advanced past the original first down line then the next play is the down after the one that the fumble occurred on. For example, if a running back fumbles the ball on second down and an offensive line man recovers the fumble but does not advance the ball beyond the original first down line, it is then third down. If the defense recovers the fumble, then it is an automatic first down wherever the player that recovered the fumble is downed.
In the NFL, the play would be a fumble as a player must be 'downed by contact' for the play to be whistled dead. If there was no contact causing the player to hit the ground the play is still active. In college football, the play would be dead as there is no 'downed by contact' rule and once the player is on the ground the play is whistled dead.
i believe so
Yes. The only rule restricting who may recover a fumble occurs in the final two minutes of a half. This rule states if the ball is fumbled forward in the last two minutes of a half, if the player that fumbled the ball is not the player that recovers the ball, then the ball goes back to the point where it was fumbled. If the player that fumbled is also the player that recovers, the ball is spotted where the recovery was made. In other words, let's say there are less than two minutes left in a half and a player is on the 5 yard line and fumbles the ball forward into the end zone. If the player that fumbled the ball also recovers the ball, the play is ruled a touchdown. If any other offensive player recovers the ball, it is not a touchdown and the ball is brought back to the 5 yard line and the offense keeps possession. If a defensive player recovers the ball, it is ruled a touchback.
The Ground can cause a fumble in the NFL.The ground cannot cause a fumble in the NFL during a play where the runner is being tackled. The ground can cause a fumble if a runner falls to the ground without the fall being the result of a tackle.Instance where the ground can cause a fumble, per the The 2017 Official NFL Playing Rules, Rule 8, Section 7, Article 3, Item 1, which states:"Recovery and Advance. Any player of either team may recover or catch a fumble and advance, either before or after the ball strikes the ground."Instance where the ground cannot cause a fumble is covered under the Dead Ball Rule, Rule 7 Section 2 (a-q) The 2017 Official NFL Playing Rules, Rule 7 Dead Ball, Section 2, Article 1a states the ball shall be declared dead when:"when a runner is contacted by an opponent and touches the ground with any part of his body other than his hands or feet. The ball is dead the instant the runner touches the ground."
If the ball touches the ground, the runner is down. This is why 'the ground cannot cause a fumble.'
== == == == When the ball is advanced past the end zone line it is called a touchdown. It is worth 6 points. A touchdown can be scored on offense or defense by any player. A touchdown can also be scored if there is a fumble in the end zone, and the team that scored on that end zone recovers the fumble.
A fumble is a fumble, no matter what direction it goes in, but a player cannot advance the ball forward through the air once they have passed the line of scrimmage.