answersLogoWhite

0

As long as he likes. He can even lose it to the opponent and let the opponent score an easy goal. Only once he takes possession of the ball with his hands is there a time limit. He then has 6 seconds to release it back into play.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

JordanJordan
Looking for a career mentor? I've seen my fair share of shake-ups.
Chat with Jordan
RossRoss
Every question is just a happy little opportunity.
Chat with Ross
ViviVivi
Your ride-or-die bestie who's seen you through every high and low.
Chat with Vivi
More answers

Once the goal keeper has taken possession of the ball with his hands they have 6 seconds to release the ball back into play. The referee, in general, will not be counting and will verbally warn the goal keeper before taking action. If it continues, then play will be stopped and an indirect free kick will be awarded to the opponents at the location of the infraction.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
User Avatar

The goalkeeper has an unlimited amount of time if it is a back pass because he is deemed to be a defender. However, if it was from a save, 6 seconds.

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago
User Avatar

A goalkeeper cannot hold the ball for more than six seconds. The penalty for going over six seconds is an indirect free kick for the other team.

User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago
User Avatar

They're normally allowed no more than six seconds, but to honest I don't think anyone really enforces it any more...

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago
User Avatar

The goal keeper has 6 seconds to release the ball. The referee will most likely give verbal warnings before penalizing the goal keeper.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
User Avatar

6 seconds

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago
User Avatar

6 Seconds

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How long can a Football Goalkeeper hold the ball for?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp