answersLogoWhite

0

Probably a bunch. A fly out to the centerfielder is an unassisted putout. So is a ground ball to the first baseman. It doesn't happen every inning, but it certainly is not RARE for one player to make all 3 outs unassisted. I suspect it has happened thousands of times. ----

Also, if a pitcher strikes out the side the catcher is credited with three putouts as long as he catches all three strike threes or doesn't have to throw to first base to get a batter who is running due to the uncaught third strike rule. ---- Yes, but the PITCHER gets an assist on a strikeout. So, even though the catcher gets credit for all three putouts when the pitcher strikes out the side, the outs are not "unassisted", which was a criteria on the question. Also, your exception about the catcher dropping strike 3 only applies if the batter swung at the ball. Also, first base has to be empty, unless there are already two outs. Furthermore, ironically, if all three outs were swinging strike-outs, and the catcher dropped the ball on all three third strikes, if he then successfully tagged all three batters before they got to first base (rather than just throwing the ball to first), then he would have accomplished the feat - 3 unassisted putouts in one inning. However, I expect that this method is very unlikely, and has probably never happened in MLB. As a side note, I saw a game once (a college game) in which one player very nearly GOT put out 3 times in an inning. That, if it had occurred, would have probably been unique in all of Baseball. First of all, you have to come up to the plate 3 times in the same inning. That is very rare, as it requires everyone else to come up to the plate at least twice, which means a total of at least 19 batters in the inning, and also at least 13 runs scored. Second, you have to be hitting so badly that you can't get on base, when EVERYONE ELSE ON YOUR TEAM CAN, TWICE. The player in question (Warren Morris, LSU) was the first batter of the inning, and grounded out. The next 8 batters reached base safely, and Morris came up again, and struck out. Again, all 8 other batters reached base safely and Morris came up again. He got a hit this time. He didn't get another chance to accomplish this "feat". LSU scored 18 runs in that inning. Ironically, Morris was probably the best hitter on that team. He got a hit in every game he played in that season (though he missed the majority of it due to a wrist injury). He was, in fact, the hero of the most dramatic finish ever in any baseball championship game, hitting a homer with 2 outs in the bottom of the ninth of the final game of the college World Series. -----

Oops, you are absolutely correct. However, the assist is not recorded as an assist in the boxscore. The rules were changed in 1889 to not credit the pitcher with an assist on a strikeout. Also, the uncaught third strike rule is in effect whether the batter swings at strike three or not as long as there are less than two outs and first base is not occupied (Rule 6.05(b) and Rule 6.09(b)). Regardless, I need to start reading these questions a little more carefully. ---- Grady Sizemore did it tonight (June 12/08) in the top of the ninth, hes a centerfielder.

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

MaxineMaxine
I respect you enough to keep it real.
Chat with Maxine
JudyJudy
Simplicity is my specialty.
Chat with Judy
FranFran
I've made my fair share of mistakes, and if I can help you avoid a few, I'd sure like to try.
Chat with Fran
More answers

yes. Boston Red Sox player Mike Lowell was the first out and then hit into a DP in the same inning 23/9/09 vs KC. The real question is whether anyone ever himself made 3 outs in one inning which would require that there had been 19 batters in one inning and a minimum of 13 runs in that inning (the most runs in an inning = 17/18 in the two leagues).

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

I just saw a dribbler in front of the plate caught by the catcher who tagged the batter who hoped the ball would go foul. That was an unassisted putout. I wonder how often it happens but it doesn't seem rare.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
User Avatar

There have been a few unassisted triple plays in baseball history.

Also, 3 strikeouts could qualify under your criteria.

I'm sure there have been other 1-2-3 unassisted innings in baseball.

How about three fly balls, three pop ups, three ground balls to first. Happens all the time in MLB games.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
User Avatar

Yes, it's known as an unassisted triple play. It's extremely rare, usually occurs when there are at least two runners on consecutive bases (1st & 2nd, for example) and the defensive player (in this case the second baseman or short-stop) catches a line drive or fly ball (1 out) steps on the base (2 out) and tags a runner (3 outs). I think the last time it happened was in 2009.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
User Avatar

There have been 15.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Has any MLB batter caused all three outs in one inning?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp