Yes they can, although that is almost impossible.
No. The kicking team is penalized if a kickoff goes out of bounds, but on a punt, the ball is put in play for the receiving team at the point where it goes out of bounds.
A muffed punt occurs when a player attempting to catch a punted football fails to secure it cleanly, leading to a fumble. This can happen when the player misjudges the ball's trajectory, allowing it to bounce off their hands or body. If the player recovers the ball after the muff, they can continue the play, but if the ball is lost and not recovered, it can be gained by the opposing team. This play can be critical, as it often leads to scoring opportunities for the other team.
The receiving team can run it out or down it in the end zone for a touchback; if nobody on the receiving team touches the ball, that's also a touchback and the receiving team gets the ball first and ten on their own 20 yard line.
Yes they can, although that is almost impossible.
Yes, it is legal for the kicking team to advance the ball on an onside kick in the NFL, but only under specific conditions. The ball must travel at least 10 yards before the kicking team can legally recover or advance it. If the ball does not travel the required distance, the kicking team cannot advance it and the receiving team gains possession at the spot of the kick.
Yes the football can be advanced by any team Incorrect - the defense cannot advance a fumble in high school football. The play is blown dead upon fumble and the ball spotted where the change in possession occurred.
receiving team
The referee in football doesn't rule the re-kick rather the team that reaps the benefit of a penalty and chooses to re-kick. For instance; if a punt only goes 20 yards on a 4th and 12 punt and the defense was offsides; the referee just calls the penalty; the kicking team selects to enforce the penalty or re-kick. My answer - a referee seldom rules a punt to be rekicked. The kicking team will have that luxury ONLY if a penalty flag was thrown and in their favour.
Yes, if a punt travels untouched into the end zone, whether on a fly or not, it is a touchback to be placed on the 20, unless the receiving team brings it out of the end zone.
Yes it is a live ball and if the kicking team recovers they still have to get the first down and if the defense recovers its a turnover. The ball is live, however, the kicking team cannot regain possession of the ball unless the receiving team touches it first.
The formation rules for a punt return team typically require players to align in specific positions to maximize field coverage and protect the returner. Generally, there are usually two players deep to catch the punt, while others form a wall or line of blockers to create a path for the returner. The return team must ensure they are aware of the punter's kicking tendencies and adjust their formation accordingly to counter the coverage team. Additionally, players must avoid interference with the kicking team and follow fair catch signals if necessary.
A 'muff' is generally used with punting and occurs when the player that is catching the punt drops it or 'muffs it' without ever having possession of the ball. There is a distinct difference in the NFL rules between a muff and a fumble. If a punt receiver fumbles a punt, that means he had possession of the ball and then fumbled. The punting team can recover a fumble and advance it as many yards as they can get. If a punt receiver muffs a punt, that means the receiver did not have possession of the ball. The punting team may recover a muff but may not advance the ball. The punting team would gain possession of the ball at the spot of the recovery.