What is a pinch runner?

Updated: 9/28/2023
User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

Best Answer

A pinch runner is a substitute for a runner that is already on base. If player A is on second base and the manager decides to replace player A with player B, player B would be called a pinch runner.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

8y ago

In Baseball the PH is a substitute batter; usually for a short time.

Generally, the term refers to anyone who can step in for someone else at work.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

In baseball, a pinch hitter (PH) is a substitute batter. Once there is a substitute the player that came out may not come back in for the rest of the game.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

They come in in a pinch

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is a pinch runner?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

When was The Pinch Runner Memorandum created?

The Pinch Runner Memorandum was created in 1976.

When was Eddie Phillips - pinch runner - born?

Eddie Phillips - pinch runner - was born on 1930-07-08.

When did Eddie Phillips - pinch runner - die?

Eddie Phillips - pinch runner - died on 2010-09-09.

How many times can you use the same player as a pinch runner in girls a.s.a. softball?

Unlimited as long as the pinch runner is designated the pinch runner for the pitching position only and is a sub that does not enter the game.

In ASA softball can you be a courtesy runner and then a pinch runner for someone else?


Who gets the win when a fielder is assinged to pitch Like in a situation when someone pinch hits for a pitcher and the winning run is scored while that pinch runner is assingned to pitch?

The pitcher of record, i. e., the pitcher who was the player who last pitched, would get credit for the win. The pinch hitter or pinch runner is not considered the pitcher until he takes the mound, not when he replaces the pitcher as a pinch hitter or pinch runner. To further explain, even if the pinch hitter or pinch runner, or another pitcher enters the game to pitch after the end of the inning in which they pinch hit and/or pinch ran, and the losing team does not tie the game, or go ahead, that previous pitcher (the one that was pinch hit for, or pinch ran for) gets credit for the win.

Can you let another player run for you in baseball?

Yes. The substitute runner is called the "pinch runner".

If a pinch runner comes into a game and ends up coming around to score who gets credit for the total bases and run scored - the pinch runner or the player who reached base in the first place?

Total bases is not relevant with pinch runners. Total bases is only relevant with batters and is a statistical category used to measure a baseball player's effectiveness at the plate. So the pinch runner would be credited with 0 total bases. However, the run scored would be credited to the pinch runner.

Is a pinch runner allowed for the last batted out of a tiebreaker in softball?


Can a pinch runner bat for someone other than the one they are running for?


In the softball fast pitch line up when can put a designator runner?

A designated runner can run for pitchers and catchers. It needs to be the same runner every time you put them into the game. You can also use a pinch runner, but this counts as a substitution so be careful when you do this that you are not going over the substitution limit.

If you use a pinch runner do you have to tell the other coach of the change or just the umpire?

You only have to tell the umpire or official scorekeeper.