This rule is fairly complex, a basic overview of the rule is provided below: - The ball hits the batsman in front of the stumps before hitting his/her bat and in the opinion of the umpire, if it had not been blocked by the batsman's body, would have gone on to hit the batsman's stumps. - In practice there are a number of subtleties to the rule, for example: * If the ball hits the batsman outside the line of the off stump and the batsman was playing a genuine shot (but missed the ball), then he cannot be given out.
* If the ball pitches outside the line of the leg stump, the batsman can never be given out, even if he does not play a shot. More information about cricket can be found here: http://www.answers.com/topic/cricket-4
Chat with our AI personalities
LBW stands for Leg Before Wicket. In simple terms, the batsman is stood so that his leg(s) obscure all or part of the stumps. If the ball was bowled - and would have clearly hit the bales or stumps if the batsman wasn't there - he (or she) is given 'out LBW'