answersLogoWhite

0

Yes. Under Rule 28, a player may declare his ball unplayable, and the player is the sole judge of such a declaration.

To remedy the unplayable ball, the player may opt to rehit the ball from the last location, drop the ball behind the unplayable lie on a direct line from the hole through the unplayable lie to the drop point, or drop the ball within two club-lengths of the unplayable lie but not nearer the hole.

However, declaring a ball unplayable is not a free declaration---the player incurs a one stroke penalty (as if the ball landed in a water hazard).

Local rules from the course or club may prohibit this declaration, however. Typically listed as "play the ball as it lies," or similar wording, this would instruct the player to not lift a ball simply due to an unfavorable lie. Violating that rule would incur a two stroke penalty.

Also, to declare a ball unplayable simple because the lie is unfavorable would violate the gentlemanly etiquette of the game of Golf, and is heavily frowned upon.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

BlakeBlake
As your older brother, I've been where you are—maybe not exactly, but close enough.
Chat with Blake
TaigaTaiga
Every great hero faces trials, and you—yes, YOU—are no exception!
Chat with Taiga
DevinDevin
I've poured enough drinks to know that people don't always want advice—they just want to talk.
Chat with Devin

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can you declare your golf ball unplayable by landing in the rough?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp