Best Answer

This year, 2009-2010 season, the Chicago Blackhawks won the Stanley Cup.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-07-03 18:37:19
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides


1 card


See all cards
12 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Which national hockey league team won the Stanley cup this year?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Continue Learning about History

How did the Stanley Cup get its name?

The Stanley Cup was named after Lord Stanley of Preston, the then Governor General Of CanadaThe Stanley Cup is a trophy awarded to the champion team of the National Hockey League. In 1892 , Lord Stanley gave a trophy to be awarded to the top amateur hockey team in Canada. By the early 1900's, it was being played for by professional leagues in Canada. Since 1926 no other league has played for the Cup but the NHL, and while ostensibly "looked after" by a Board of Trustees, it is for all intents and purposes the property of the NHL and awarded each year to the playoff champions of the NHL.

How was the NHL formed?

The history of the National Hockey League begins with the demise of its predecessor league, the National Hockey Association (NHA), in 1917. After unsuccessfully resolving disputes with Eddie Livingstone, owner of the Toronto Blueshirts, executives of the three other NHA franchises suspended the NHA, and formed the National Hockey League (NHL), replacing the Livingstone team with a temporary team in Toronto, the Arenas.

What hockey team won the first Stanley cup in 1893?

Montreal Hockey Club

Does Indiana have a hockey team?

No they do not they only have a Minor League hockey team and Football and Basketball team!

Which team is the world champion of hockey?

The most prestigious club championship in the world is the Stanley Cup, champion of the National Hockey League. However winners of the Stanley Cup are very rarely referred to as "World Champions." Other ice hockey leagues including Elitserien (known in English as the Swedish Elite League), SM-liga (Finnish league), Nationalliga A (Swiss League), the Kontinental Hockey League (Russia and satellite states) also designate a league champion, not a world champion. If your talking international competition, Ice Hockey has two main tournaments: An annual World Championship and the Olympic games (Every 4 years). The current world champion is the Czech Republic and the current Olympic champion is Canada.

Related questions

Which team is the best team in hockey?

Since the National Hockey League is usually considered the best hockey league in the world, the winner of the Stanley Cup is the best team in hockey.

Which National hockey league team won the Stanley cup this yr?

Chicago Blackhawks

What is a Stanley cup?

It is the trophy won by the team who wins the playoffs in the National hockey League.

5 What National Hockey League team has won the most Stanley Cups?

The Montreal Canadiens.

How do you get your name on the Stanley Cup?

Your name is engraved on the Stanley Cup when the team you play for wins the National Hockey League championship for a season.

How many Stanley cups has Czechoslovakia team won?

None. The Stanley Cup was previously awarded to the Canadian hockey champion, and later to the champion of the National Hockey League. It has never been a stake in a competition between national teams from any country.

What team won the hockey league Stanley cup in 2015?

the Chicago Blackhawks

What is the big prize for the national hockey team NHL called?

Stanley Cup

What super powers start with the letter D?

Detroit Red Wings (National Hockey League team has won the Stanley Cup 11 times)

What is the Stanley Cup?

The Stanley Cup is the trophy awarded to the team that wins the championship in the National Hockey League. The Cup was donated in 1892 by Lord Stanley of Preston, at the time the Governor General of Canada, as the award for Canada's top amateur hockey team. Teams that were awarded the cup would be challenged by teams from other amateur leagues to a game or series of games. Over time, the Cup became the trophy that professional hockey leagues would play for. In 1926, the Cup became the official championship trophy of the National Hockey League.The Stanley (with an E) Cup is the trophy awarded to the winner of the NHL playoffs.Trophy for the NHL (National Hockey League)

Which hockey team in the National Hockey league plays out of the Score center?

There is not a hockey team in the National Hockey League that plays out of the Score Centre. There is a sports site that is called the Score Centre and there is an arena in London called Score Centre that is home to a London football team.

What is the Ottawa senators?

The Ottawa Senators are an Ice Hockey team that play in the National Hockey League.

People also asked