Best Answer

The National League was formed first in 1876 and the American League was formed to compete with them 25 yrs. Later

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-07-21 06:55:48
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
See all Study Guides
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Why is there an American league and national league in baseball?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Are National League baseball games shorter then American League baseball games.?

No, Both American and National league baseball games are 9 innings long

The Chicago Cubs play in the National Baseball League as opposed to American Baseball League?


How many baseball terms are in the American baseball league?

There are 16 teams in the American League 14 in the National League

What is the diffrance in American league and national league in baseball?

The American League uses the Designated hitter, and the pitcher does not bat as in the National League.

How are the National League and American League in baseball determined?


What are the baseball leagues called?

The American League and the National League

What are the divisions of baseball?

* American League East Division * American League Central Division * American League West Division * National League East Division * National League Central Division * National League West Division

Did the American League start in 1957?

No. The American League joined the National league in 1901 to form Major League Baseball

What are the names of the 2 leagues in Major League Baseball?

The National League and the American League.

What are the names of the two leagues in Major League Baseball?

The American League and the National League.

Who was the first African American to play in the national league?

Jackie Robinson was the first African American to play in the National League, and Major League baseball.

How many baseball teams are there in the American League?

There are 14 teams in the American League. There are also 16 in the National League.

How many teams are there in the National League?

There are 30 Major League Baseball teams. American League - 15 National League - 15

How many baseball leagues are there?

There are 2 leagues. American League and National League.

What baseball teams are the best in both American and national league?

in the national league cardinals cubs braves

How many baseball team's are in the American league?

In 2010 there are 14 American League teams, and 16 National League teams.

What are two leagues that make up the Major League Baseball?

American League and the National League

Does the pitcher in a Major League Baseball game get to hit?

There are two leagues in American major league baseball, the American League and the National League. The American League has the designated hitter rule which allows for someone other than the pitcher to bat in the pitcher's place. The pitcher does not bat in the American League. The National League does not have the designated hitter rule. The pitcher does bat in the National League.

Is the weight of a baseball different between the National league and the American league?

no... the only difference between American and national league is that there is a DH in the roster for American league and the pitcher doesnt bat in American league... other than that it is exactly the same

Which baseball league came first the national or the American?

The National League, established on February 2, 1876, is the oldest of the Major Leagues. The American League was begun in 1901.

What is the reason the American League in Major League Baseball is referred to as the Junior Circuit?

In MLB, the American League is referred to as the Junior Circuit is because it joined major league baseball a good number of years after the National baseball league was established. Thus the National League is the Senior Circuit.

Are the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim an American or National League baseball team?

They are in the American League (Western Division).

What is the name of the competition between the American baseball league and the national baseball league?

Ummm the All Star game?

What are the different Conferences of the Major League Baseball?

Major League Baseball (MLB) teams are divided between National and American League. Within these leagues, teams are further divided into divisions: East, Central, and West; therefore, in total, there are six (6) divisions (or "conferences") in MLB, including National League East, National League Central, National League West, American League East, American League Central, and American League West teams.

How many teams are there in Major League Baseball?

There are 30, 14 in the American League and 16 in the National League.