answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The foul tip is called out if caught because it could be in bounds or out of bounds. The umps don't know where it is until it touches the ground, so if it didn't touch the ground, how could there be a fair ruling on if it was out or in. SO if the ball is hit and caught without touching the ground, it is an out, if it looks foul or fair.

According to MLB Rules, Section 2, a foul tip is defined as:

"a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand."

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-09-13 14:32:10
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Why is a batter called out if a foul tip is caught?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If the count is two strikes and a foul tip is caught by the catcher is the batter out?

YES.


Is the batter out if a foul tip is caught by the catcher and the count is either no strikes or one strike?

No.MLB rule 2.00 defines a foul tip as follows:" A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand. "So the answer to your question is no since a foul tip that is caught is only considered a strike.


What is the minimum height of a pop up foul tip to be out?

There is no minimum height associated with a foul tip - a foul tip is defined as a foul ball which is caught by the catcher without contacting anything else. If it occurs with two existing strikes, the batter is out.


When the batter hits the ball on the 3rd strict but lands directly in the catchers glove is he out?

Yea its a caught foul tip


When is a foul ball caught by the catcher an out?

The baseball rules differentiate between a foul ball and a foul tip.A foul tip caught by the catcher is a strike. If it's the third strike the result is a strikeout, otherwise the at bat continues.A foul ball caught in the air by any fielder (including the catcher) is a pop out (or fly out, which is scored the same).Major League Baseball rules define a foul tip as follows:A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand.Many people were taught that a foul tip is anything that does not go over the batter's head, or that does not go at least six feet high, but those criteria are not in the rule book.


What is a foul tip in basball?

A foul tip is when the batter hits the ball with a small piece of the bat and the ball lands foul. A pop up to the catcher is not a foul tip.


Do 3 foul balls equal 3 strikes?

yes and no. a foul ball on the third strike goes uncaught then it is not a third strike. if a foul ball is caught on the third strike, including a foul tip, the batter is out.


What is a foul tip in base ball?

A foul tip is where the batter has just barely made contact with the ball with his bat and hits in foul territory.


Why isn't it an out on a caught foul tip ball on a first and second strike but it is an out on the third?

According to MLB Official Rules 2.00 Definition of Terms:" A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher’s hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher’s glove or hand. "According to the rules, a foul tip and a foul ball are two different things.


If a batter foul tips a pitch that is caught by the catcher can a base runner steal?

In MLB, yes. According to MLB rules, a foul tip is a ball that is tipped by the batter that goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. It is considered a swinging strike and not a foul ball.


Can a runner on first base steal second on a foul tip?

Foul-tip Rule 2.00 see also; Strike (g) and 6.05(b) There is nothing "FOUL" about a foul-tip. It is a strike and the ball is alive. A foul-tip is the same as a swing and a miss. To be a foul-tip, by rule, the ball must go sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hand or glove AND BE CAUGHT. Confusion arises on this because people commonly call any ball that is tipped or nicked a foul-tip. It is not a foul-tip, by rule, unless the nicked or tipped ball is caught. If it is not caught, it is simply a foul-ball. A foul-ball is a dead ball. A foul-tip (a legally caught nick) is a live ball strike, just like a swing and a miss. Read the rule in the Official Baseball Rules


Is an out called if the batter nicks the ball and the catcher catches it before it hits the ground?

Only if it is on a third strike. That would be considered a foul tip and, by official rule, is different from a foul ball. A foul tip is when the catcher catches a ball that is 'tipped' by the batter and the ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. If the catcher drops the ball it is considered a foul ball and not a foul tip.

People also asked