Best Answer

Joe McCarthy managed the Chicago Cubs to the 1929 World Series and the Yankees to the 1932, 1936-1939, and 1941-1943 World Series.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-04-30 14:11:13
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
See all Study Guides
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Who took the New York Yankees and a national league team to the World Series?
Write your answer...
Related questions

Did Boston redsox ever played in a world series against the Yankees?

Red Sox and Yankees are in the same league (American) and so they can not meet in the World Series since the World Series is played between the winners of the American League and National League of the Major Baseball League

Can Yankees play Red Sox in World Series?

No. The World Series is played between the American League pennant winner, and the National League pennant winner. The Red Sox and Yankees are in the same League (American)

Has Boston ever won season series vs Yankees?

No. The Boston Red Sox are an American League team as are the Yankees. The World Series is played between the American League, and the National League.

Who hold the record for most World Series win the National league or American League?

Yankees American League

Which league has won the most World Series wins?

As of 2010 The National Leagues Giants won the last WS) the American League won 62 World Series titles. The National League won 44 World Series titles, though the Yankees have 27 of those American league wins if you were to subtract the Yankees(A power house team since forever who by chance happens to be an American league team) 27 wins the National League would have 8 more World Series wins than the American league.

Which league has won the most World Series?

AL because they have better teams and they have the Yankees After the 2007 World Series that the Red Sox won, the count between leagues is 42 for the National League and 61 for the American League. Of the American League's 61 World Series wins, the Yankees have 26 of those.

Which American League teams won the most World Series?

The New York Yankees won 27 World Series titles most by a team in both the American, and National League.

Who holds the major league record for world series appearances world series games won and World Series championships?

Yankees, Yankees and Yankees

Did the New York Yankees ever play the Tampa Bay Rays in the World Series?

No, they did not, and it is not physically possible to do so. The World Series is played between the National League and American League champions, and both the Yankees and the Rays are in the American League. The farthest they can play each other in the playoffs is the American League Championship Series (ALCS).

What teams are playing in the 2009 World Series of baseball?

The defending world champion Philadelphia Phillies of the National League and the New York Yankees of the American League. The World Series is now over with the Yankees defeating the Phillies 4 games to 2.

When was the last time the New York Yankees and Boston Red Sox played in the World Series together?

They never played each other in the World Series. This couldn't happen due to the fact that both the Yankees and Red Sox are American League teams. The American league plays the National League in the World Series.

Who has won more World Series the NL or AL?

The American League won 61 World Series titles, the National League 44. It is noteworthy to mention that the Yankees were responsible for 27 of those 61 American league victories..The AL is slanted heavily by the Yankees

When was the time two New York teams faced each other in the World Series?

In 2000 World Series, the American League Champions Yankees faced the National League Champion Mets in th World Series. It was the first time the two teams met in the World Series. There have been previous series Where the New York Giants or the Brooklyn Dodgers faced the New York Yankees in the World Series, but it has now happened in over 50 years because both National League Franchises has since relocated.

What two new York teams played in the World Series?

The New York Giants, Yankees, Mets, and the Brooklyn Dodgers all played in the World Series. The New York Yankees the only American league team had played all three New York National League teams in the World Series.

Who won the American league baseball World Series in 1998?

1998 Major League Baseball World SeriesThe New York Yankees (an American League team) beat the San Diego Padres (a National League team) in the 1998 World Series.

Milwaukee braves World Series who won?

The Milwaukee Braves beat the New York Yankees 4 games to 3 to win the 1957 World Series. In 1958 they again won the National League pennant but lost the World Series to the Yankees 4 games to 3.

Which major league baseball Team has the most World Series wins?

national league is the cardinals with 10 w.s. wins and American league is the Yankees with 27 and the most in mlb.

Who was the New York Yankees manager for the 2009 World Series?

It was Joe Girardi, who guided New York to the World Series in his second season as the Yankees boss. Girardi previously managed the Florida Marlins during the 2006 season and was named National League Manager of the Year. Girardi was a major-league catcher for the Yankees, Rockies, Cubs and Cardinals.

Who was the first National League designated hitter to play in the World Series?

That was Dan Driessen of the Cincinnati Reds in Game 1 of the 1976 World Series against the New York Yankees.

What teams are in the 2010 Major League Baseball series?

The American League Championship Series matches the New York Yankees (the 2009 World Series titlists) against the Texas Rangers. The National League Championship Series features the Philadelphia Phillies versus the San Francisco Giants. The winners in each league will advance to the 106th World Series, which will begin Wednesday, October 27, 2010 at the home of the National League champion.

What National League team has won the most World Series championships?

The St. Louis Cardinals have won 11 World Series, second only to the New York Yankees' 27 championships.

Who won the World Series in 2008 for the National League?

The Philadelphia Phillies won the World Series for the National League in 2008.

Who played in the World Series of 1955?

The Brooklyn Dodgers, winner of the National League, defeated the New York Yankees, American League Champions, four games to three to become World Champions in 1955.

Why would the 1956 Yankees team sign a national league ball?

The baseball could have been signed for a fan that only had a National League baseball on hand. The baseball could have also been signed during a World Series at a National League park where National League baseballs are the only baseballs available.

What professional baseball team won the pennant in 1951?

Yankees & GiantsThe New York Yankees won the American League pennant, and the New York Giants won the National League pennant. The New York Yankees beat the Giants in the World Series four games to two. This was the third straight World Series title for the Yankees, that went on to win a record 5 straight World Series Championships from 1949 - 1953.