answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

First base. The one to the right of home plate

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-06-08 00:28:03
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Which is the first base the batter should run to?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

What is a hit that lets the batter run to first base?

A single


In little league the ball hits the ground then the batter?

The batter should run to 1st base as fast as she/he can if they miss the ball you can run to 2nd base


How often is a run produced when the first batter reaches base?

Every run produced must have a runner reach first base.


What if a Runner doesnt run to first after hitting ball?

Simply the batter will get thrown out if the batter does not take a base ...NOTE : On a two (2) out situation NO run(s) count as a run till the batter takes a base ...


Can a batter run backward in order to not get tagged out on the way to first base?

NO


Do the base runners have to run when the bases are loaded and the batter hits the ball but gets out before reaching first base?

Yes. Since the batter is forced to run to first base the other runners are forced to advance. However, once the batter is put out at first base the other runners may attempt to go back to their original base.


How many ways can a batter reach first base in softball?

A batter can get a hit.A batter can walk.A batter can get hit by a pitch.A batter can run out a drop third strike and make it safely.A batter can reach first base on an error.A batter can reach first base because of a fielder's choice to make a play elsewhere.


Can a forced runner run back to first base?

yes but they can be tagged on the base if the batter has not been out yet.


If a catcher misses a third strike can a batter run to first?

yes, unless first base is occupied.


Can a batter run to first on a passed ball?

If the passed ball was a result of strike three (with fewer than 2 outs), and first base is unoccupied, the batter can ATTEMPT to run to first base before being thrown out by the catcher. (He is not ENTITLED to first base). He is entitled to first base if the pitch was ball four, whether the ball is a passed ball or not.


If there is a runner in first base and the batter strikes out swinging and the ball hits the ground pass the catcher is the batter automatically out?

With one out or no outs the batter is out. With two outs the batter may run to first.


What is the differecne between a tag play and a force play in softball?

A tag play is when it is required to tag a base runner to get them out. A force play is when it is required to have possession of the ball and touch the base to get the base runner out. By definition, a force play is in effect when a base runner is 'forced' to run to the next base because of the ball being hit and another runner being 'forced' to run to the base that the runner currently occupies. If there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a ground ball to third base, the runner on first base is 'forced' to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. In this case, a force play is in effect at second base (and at first base because a batter is always 'forced' to run to first base after hitting a fair ball. A force play is always in effect at first base when a batter hits a fair ball.). If there is a runner only on second base and the batter hits a ball to first base, the runner at second is not 'forced' to run to third base because no one is 'forced' to run to second base. In this case, a tag play is in effect at third base if the runner at second attempts to advance.


When a runner is on first base and there is two outs and the batter strikes out and the catcher drops the ball can the batter run to first base?

Yes, with two outs the uncaught third strike rule is not in effect.


If a batter swings at a pitch in the dirt and it is the third strike and also the third out can the batter run to first base?

In softball yes.. if first base is not occupied.... but it depends on baseball and softball and what leval you play at


Does a batter have to drop his bat at first base after hitting a home run?

A batter must release the bat "as soon as safe and practical" while running to first base. He cannot carry it with him or he will be ruled "out."


If a batter is tagged out going to first are all other runners forced to run?

no, if there's a runner on first base and the batter gets a strike-out but the catcher drop the ball. he's out because of the runner on first base.


What is the ending of Hit and Run?

The base runner is safe at third while the batter is safe at first


What is a base in baseball?

In baseball, when the batter hits the ball, he has to run to first base. First base is when he is safe, where he can not be tagged out by the ball. You can also steal base :) i play 12u softball I am a gall


Can a runner from third base score if the batter is tagged out for the third out?

If the batter is tagged out before he reaches first base it is still considered a force out and the runner cannot score, however if the batter crosses first base safely and then is tagged out, the run counts if the third base runner crosses home plate before the batter is tagged out.


What is a lead-off home run?

The first batter in either the top or the bottom of an inning hits a home run. By definition, this is a one-run homer, because it is impossible for any runner to be on base when the first batter comes up.


What is the advancement for pro baseball batter?

First base, then second base, then third base, then home plate, whereupon one run is scored for their team.


Do runners have to advance on a ground ball?

That depends on whether a runner is forced to vacate a base when a ground ball is hit. If there is a runner on first base and a ground ball is hit, the runner is forced to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. If there is also a runner on second base, that runner is forced to run to third because the runner from first is running to second. If a runner is not forced to run, they do not have to. If there are runners on first base and third base and a ground ball is hit, the runner at first is forced to run to second because the batter is running to first. But the runner on third is not forced to run because no runner is running to third base from second base.


Does run count if crosses plate before third out at first?

The run doesn't count if the out at first is a force out, if the batter overruns first base and is tagged out in an attempt to get back to first then the run would count.


What is a three run home run?

That is when a player hits a home run with two men on base. The batter and the two players on base will all score. The batter will then be credited with a three run home run.


What are 4 ways a batter can reach first base?

There are 6 ways a batter can reach first base. Base on Balls - a batter is pitched 4 balls Hit By Pitch Hit a single An error in the field Fielders choice (the fielder got another runner out instead of the batter) If the third strike gets past the catcher the batter can run to first if he can beat the catchers throw.