Best Answer

A goal keeper may never use their hands outside of their own penalty area.

A goal keeper may not use their hands, even in their penalty area, when a team-mate deliberately plays the ball to them with their feet.

A goal keeper may not use their hands, even in their penalty area, when a team-mate directly throws the ball to them on a throw-in.

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

7y ago

When their are outside their own Penalty Area.

When their teammate passes it to them deliberately with their feet.

When their teammate directly performs a throw-in to them.

After, after having possession of the ball in their hands, they release the ball. (dribbling doesn't count)

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When is the goalkeeper not allowed to pick up the ball?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Can a goalkeeper in soccer pick up a ball that has been chested back to him?

Yes it can be done, as it is not a back pass.

What is the passback rule?

If a defender passes the ball back to his own goalkeeper using his feet then the keeper cannot pick it up, he can only use his feet to clear or pass the ball. however if the defender passes the ball back to his keeper using another part of his body (excluding arms and hands) then the goalkeeper can pick it up.

Which player on the team throws the ball?

Any player is allowed to take a throw-in. Also the goalkeeper can throw the ball after legally picking it up during the course of play.

In girls lacrosse if the team that dropped the ball is the other team allowed to pick it up?


Can goalkeeper pick up ball he dribbles back into the box?

Yes he can dribble the ball into his own penalty box and pick it up, if he has not already picked it up, or if his team mate did not back pass it to him (though a back pass via a head or a chest can be picked up) == == Below is straight out of the FIFA 07-08 Laws. Interpret as you may. - Unspoken Offences by goalkeepersGoalkeepers are not permitted to keep possession of the ball in their hands for more than six seconds. The goalkeeper is considered to be in possession of the ball: • while the ball is between his hands or between his hand and any surface (e.g., ground, own body) • while holding the ball in his outstretched open hand. • while in the act of bouncing it on the ground or tossing it into the air When a goalkeeper has gained possession of the ball with his hands, he cannot be challenged by an opponent. A goalkeeper is not permitted to touch the ball with his hand inside his own penalty area in the following circumstances: • If he handles the ball again after it has been released from his possession and has not touched any other player. - The goalkeeper is considered to be in control of the ball by touching it with any part of his hands or arms except if the ball rebounds accidentally from the goalkeeper, for example after he has made a save - Possession of the ball includes the goalkeeper deliberately parrying the ball, • If he touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate. • If he touches the ball with his hands after he has received it directly from a thrown-in taken by a team-mate.

Is football goalkeeper allowed to crass the half line?

Yes the goalkeeper is allowed to cross the half line. He/she can go up for corners. I have done that against weaker teams.

When is the goalie allowed and not allowed to pick up the ball in indoor soccer?

when he is inside the designated area wether it be a semi circle or a bigger box

Can a goal keeper go in to the other team's penalty area and pick the ball up?

In short, no. A goal kick is not complete (the ball in not yet in play) until the whole of the ball crosses the whole of the penalty area line and into the field of play. If the goalkeeper touches the ball before it completely leaves the penalty area, the goal kick must be retaken. If the goalkeeper touches the ball with his hands after the ball has left the penalty area and become "in-play", then he is guilty of a handling infraction because the ball is not within the keeper's own penalty area anymore. Either the ball is still in the penalty area or it isn't; it can't be both. This is all without even considering the fact that a goalkeeper cannot handle a ball that has been intentionally kicked to him by a teammate, the so-called "pass-back" rule.

Can a goal keeper pick up the ball within the area if he himself kicked it into the area from the field?

Yes. A goalkeeper can dribble the ball back into the penalty area and pick it up. However, this is not the case if the ball was passed to him by a teammate (back pass), or if he has (for example) thrown the ball outside of the penalty area only to dribble it back in (double touch), or in any other case specifically disallowed by the laws.

Is there a situation in soccer when the goalkeeper may not handle the ball inside the penalty box?

Yes. If the ball is kicked to them or thrown-in to them directly from a team-mate. If the goal keeper releases the ball from their hands they cannot pick it back up again until another player touches it.

Can a goalkeeper yell keeper when he wants to pick up the ball in essence to signal to his defenders to back off?

Yes he can and good communication between players is one of the key ingredients for a good team.

If a defender deliberately kicks the ball up in the air to enable him to head it back to the goalkeeper is this classed as a deliberate back pass and the goalkeeper cannot pick it up?

You are absolutely correct. If, in the opinion of the referee, a player kicks a ball up into the air to deliberately chest or head the ball back to his own keeper to permit the keeper to "fairly" play it with the hands, it is a violation of the Laws of the Game and will result in a caution for Unsporting Behavior. The maneuver was done to circumvent the rule regarding the backpass to the keeper.Oh, and the keeper can pick up the ball in the above situation, but it will result in a whistle and the awarding of an indirect free kick to the other team at the spot where the keeper touched the ball. But you knew that. Good for you!