Anytime a third strike is dropped the runner can advance to first unless he is tagged or the ball is thrown to first before he reaches.
whenever the third strike is dropped
When there is a dropped 3rd strike
Batter's interference is when the batter interferes with the catcher's ability to throw and catch a ball that is in play. An example of this is if the batter were to obstruct the catcher when a teammate is stealing a base, resulting in the catcher's inability to throw out the runner.
If the batter showed signs of trying to move out of the way to give the catcher a clear lane to throw then neither the batter or the runner it out. If the batter did not move at all to provide the catcher a throwing lane, then the batter is out, but the runner is safe.
Not if he is still holding on to the bat. Tell the catcher to back up when this guy comes up. As always, if the umpire determines that the batter is doing the follow through on purpose he has the authority to eject the batter.
Throwing out the runner means that the batter hit the ball and a fielder fielded the ball and got the batter out running to first. It could also mean that the catcher threw the ball to second base when a girl was trying to steal and got her out. The same thing applies to third base.
Well, if its a 'wild pitch' by definition the pitcher has thrown a pitch which in the scorer's judgment could NOT be fielded by the catcher. Nevertheless, when a catcher is trying to field a pitch he will always try to keep the ball in front of him to make it hit his chest protector. If its to his right, the next question is where the batter is standing. If its a right handed hitter, the catcher will just throw, but if its a left handed hitter, theoretically the catcher may not have a clear throwing line to third and will most likely step forward to make the throw.
yea because while the batter interfer with the catcher the play is normaily stoped
If the catcher catches the tip the batter is out. If the catcher does not catch the tip, it counts as a foul ball and the batter continues at bat.
Catcher's Interference is an Umpire's call due to the Catcher making some type of contact with either the batter or his bat during a pitch or does other actions to interfere with a batter's ability to hit the oncoming pitched ball however an Umpire can only call Catcher's Interference as long as the batter is in a legal position while in the batter's box and in the event of Catcher's Interference being called the batter is awarded first base automatically and the runners advanced only if forced to.
Starting a lefty catcher does have disadvantages. She will have a harder time throwing out runners at third because she will have to clear the batter and then turn her body to throw. A right handed catcher can just clear the batter and already be in a good throwing position. Also, on a play at the plate lefties have to backhand the tag, which is very hard and often umpires have harder times seeing that type of tag being applied. If the girl you are talking about is the best catcher on the team, then she should start. But if there is an equal player in a right hander, it makes more sense to start her.
A defensive inning (1/2 inning actually) is when the players are in position in the infield and outfield with the defensive pitcher throwing the ball to the catcher trying to not have the batter (offensive Player) hit the ball.
Yes. The only time it is not an official "At Bat", is if a batter reaches base on a base on balls, hit by pitch or catcher interference. A batter is also not charged with an "At Bat" if he hits a sacrifice fly (a fly ball out that results in a runner tagging up and scoring), or a sacrifice bunt that advances a runner or runners. He is also not charged with an "At Bat" if the batter reaches base as a result of an error on a sacrifice fly or sacrifice bunt.
returned to first because when the batter intefer with the catcher the play is normaily stop