answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

A no decision is given to a starting pitcher who does not get credit for either a win or a loss for that game. A starting pitcher may come out for a relief pitcher with the score tied. Only the pitchers in the game when the final go-ahead run is scored get credit for a win or loss.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2014-08-23 04:39:30
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When does a pitcher get a no decision?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What happens when a pitcher leaves losing but the team wins?

The pitcher will have a "no decision" (neither a win nor a loss). In the case where the pitcher leaves for a pinch hitter, and the team rallies to take the lead and hold it for the remainder of the game, that pitcher would be the winning pitcher, provided he pitched the required 5 innings.


Can a relief pitcher receive credit for a hold if his team loses?

No, within the major leagues no pitcher on any losing team shall be granded anything besides a no decision, or a loss.


If a starting pitcher is taken out of a game in the 6 inning with the score 12 - 4 and the final score ends 20 - 15 does the starting pitcher get the win or no decision?

If the other team did not tie the score or go ahead after the starting pitcher was taken out of the game, the starter would get the win. If the other team did tie the score or go ahead after the starter was taken out, the starter would get a no decision.


What is a 'no decision' in baseball?

This can be the case for any starting pitcher whether his team is winning, losing, tied at the time he exits the game. Basically the term "No Decision" is used for a starting pitcher that does not record a Win or Loss at the end of the day. This could be because he didnt pitch through the 5th inning making him the official pitcher of record, or it could be any other combination in which the events occurring after he leaves the game makes it to where another pitcher gets the win or loss


Which mets pitcher is starting June 17 2009?

Tim Redding was the New York Mets starting pitcher on June 17 2009. The Baltimore Orioles beat the Mets 6-4. Redding pitched 5.1 innings gave up 4 earned runs, and did not get a decision. The losing pitcher was Mets pitcher Pedro Feliciano.


What considerations does umpire use to judge the winning pitcher of a game?

In the event that a winning team's Starting Pitcher is removed from a game before he can pitch the necessary 5 innings to qualify for a win and his team never gives up the lead or never lets the opposing team tie the score then the decision on the Winning Pitcher is at the home team's official scorer's discretion, the field umpires have nothing to do with the decision. According to the rules the official scorer has to make a judgment call on which pitcher pitched the best or most effectively when coming into the game.


How do you decide if pitchers get the win or loss or no decision?

If pitchers' team is ahead when he leaves the game (all runners left on base that score, are charged to the pitcher that left them on base), he gets the win. The pitcher must pitch at least 5 innings in a game over 6 innings to get the win. If it is a tie game and the relieving pitcher's team wins, relieving pitcher gets the win. Otherwise he is charged with the loss. If the relieving pitcher's team is winning when he enters as a pitcher and then loses the game, the relieving pitcher is charged with a loss. If the relieving pitcher's team is winning when he enters the game as a pitcher and wins, the relieving pitcher is given a Save.


How does a pitcher earn a win in baseball?

TO UPDATE THE PERSON'S POST ABOVE: MLB Rules state that a condition for a "save" is that the pitcher is not eligible for a "win". As such, a relief pitcher entering the game prior to the 5th as a reliever would get credit for the win, with no save allocated. If a pitcher pitches 6 innings and leaves the mound with the lead to field another position, then returns in the 9th to close, he remains credited with the win (if his score holds) with no save allocated. As for a team taking the lead with a pinch-hitter for a pitcher, the actual change of pitcher of record does not take effect until the next pitcher "takes the mound". Though the pitcher is removed for a pinch-hitter, the performance of the team will affect his ability to win the game. In other words, if the pitcher leaves the game while his team is on offense with the lead, he can only earn a win or a no decision. If he leaves the game while his team is on offense with a tie or behind, he can win, lose, or have a no-decision, depending on what the score is when the next pitcher takes the mound.


Is there leadoffs in softball?

There are leadoffs, but they're not the same as for baseball. You may only take a lead once the pitcher releases the ball. If you leave the base at any time while the ball is in the pitcher's circle you must continue moving to the next base until the ball leaves the circle. Once the pitcher makes the decision to try to get the out you may attempt to return to the base you came from.


What is a no no in baseball?

This can be the case for any starting pitcher whether his team is winning, losing, tied at the time he exits the game. Basically the term "No Decision" is used for a starting pitcher that does not record a Win or Loss at the end of the day. This could be because he didnt pitch through the 5th inning making him the official pitcher of record, or it could be any other combination in which the events occurring after he leaves the game makes it to where another pitcher gets the win or loss


Has there ever been a pitcher to get a winning decision playing for both the American and National League in an All-Star game?

Vida Blue of the Oakland A's was the winning pitcher of the 1971 All-Star Game in Detroit, a 6-4 victory for the American League. In 1981, Blue, then with the San Francisco Giants, was the winning pitcher in the National League's 5-4 victory in Cleveland.


Does the pitcher get the loss if no runs were scored yet?

Yes, if he leaves the game with runners on base (who are not on base due to an error) who come in to score to cause his team to give up the lead, the pitcher who is not on the field gets the loss. He is responsible for those runners. If a pitcher leaves no runners on or exits at then end of a half inning with a tie score, then he will receive a no decision, regardless of the performance of his team afterwards.

People also asked