when he gets hit with the ball
If the pitcher throws four "balls", the batter is awarded first base (a "walk"). Sometimes, the batter is intentionallywalked as a strategic move. And if the pitcher hits the batter with a pitch, the batter is awarded first base, although that is not usually called a walk.
Yes, he does. A batter is walked as a result of gaining four balls, or bad pitches. After getting four balls, they are allowed to walk to first base.
yes they get a walk on first base but on any other base but the person on first doesn't move.
A 'lead off walk' is when the first batter (lead off) of an inning gets on base from a base on balls (walk).
When a baseball batter walks it means that they received four pitches that were called balls by the umpire. The official term is base on balls. They call it a walk because the batter walks to first base. You only advance one base at a time when there is a walk. That means if there is already a runner on first base when the batter walks, that person advances only to second base. There is also an intentional walk where the pitcher intentionally throws four balls in order to put the runner on first base. This is used as strategy.
No when the batter gets hit by the ball it is called and walk and the batter gets to go to first base
BB stands for "Base on Balls". It refers to when a batter receives four pitches determined by the umpire as balls before the Baseball is either put into play or receives three strikes. In such a case the batter earns a free base and can walk to first base. The batter has received a base on balls.
steal Hit batter double balk walk walk then run to second
Baseball. A "walk" occurs when, in the umpire's judgement, the pitcher misses the "strike zone" with four throws to a single batter. The batter is then awarded first base.
yes- if goes out of the baseline before he touches first base, he is out.
No, it is called a 'hit by pitch' and shows up in the box score as HBP.It is similar to a walk in that the batter is awarded first base.
In baseball statistics, a base on balls (BB), better known as a walk, is credited to a batter and against a pitcher when a batter receives four pitches that the umpire calls balls. It is called a "walk" because the batter is then entitled to walk to first base, or more specifically (as defined in the rules of baseball) he is "entitled to first base without liability to be put out." Any baserunner who is forced advances as well. Receiving a base on balls does not count as an official at bat for a batter but does count as a plate appearance. A pitcher can also choose to intentionally walk a batter. This is usually done for the purpose of facing a different batter that the team feels they have a better chance of getting out, or to allow a double play possibility if first base is open with less than two outs. A hit by pitch is not considered a walk, though the consequences are often the same for both.