answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

you just answered your own question. as long as a player is in bounds with control of the ball as it crosses the plane then it is a touchdown. if the ball does not cross the plane but a player does then it is not a td. if the ball is beyond the plane and out of bounds but the player has his feet in bounds with control of the ball it is a td.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-08-12 06:25:30
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When a football breaks the plane in the endzone when is it a touchdown?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What is the definition in football of breaking the plane?

When commentators and football fans say "breaking the plane" they're talking about the endzone. The first and foremost rule in scoring a touchdown is that the football must break the plane or cross into the endzone some kind of way for anyone to even think about it being a touchdown. If a team runs the ball, it wouldn't matter if the player got his whole body into the endzone. If the ball didn't break the plane as he went in it is not a touchdown. If the ball is passed and is caught by a player who is falling forward out of the endzone and he doesn't allow the ball to break the plane it is not a touchdown.


Is a play over if the ball crosses the plane of the endzone?

Yes, the moment the ball breaks the plane of the end zone while in possession of an offensive player, a touchdown is called and the play ends.


In the NFL A player has possession of the football dives into the endzone crosses the goal line and is hit in mid air causing him to lose the ball Is this a touchdown or a fumble?

It depends on whether or not he has the ball in his hands when he hits the ground of the endzone. If it is not in his possession, then it is a fumble and can be recovered by a defender. If it is in his hands and he touches the endzone, then it is a touchdown. If he was in possession of the ball when the ball crossed the goal line, it's a touchdown. As soon as the ball breaks the plane of the goal line, the ball is dead and the play is over. Anything that happens after that is irrelevant.


Does the football have to break the plane to be called a touchdown?

Yes


Is it a touchdown if the ball breaks the plane of the goal line on the out of bounds side when a player is diving?

The ball has to be in the touchdown zone. If it is above the zone it is still a touchdown. Take Troy Polamalu's touchdown on Dec,12,2010. He dived, broke the plane of the goal line but he was holding the football above the zone so it counts as a touchdown. In some cases the ref might not count it.


In the NFL if a receiver is standing with his feet in the endzone and catches a ball while leaning forward so that the ball never breaks the plane is that a TD. Remember his feet are in the end zone?

No. The NFL's definition of a touchdown is: Touchdown:When any part of the ball, legally in possession of a player inbounds, breaks the plane of the opponent's goal line, provided it is not a touchback.


Does the football have to cross the plane of the goal line to be a touchdown?

The football need only "break the plane of the goal line". If any part of the ball crosses the goalline, it's a touchdown. The entire ball does not have to cross.


Did the player have to be inbound to score a touchdown?

Yes. The technical way to score a touchdown is to have to ball "cross the plane" into the endzone without the player being down or out of bounds. With a catch, the player must establish himself as inbounds while maintaining possession. In the NFL, the player must do so with two feet inbounds. In NCAA Division I football, the player only needs to do so with one foot inbounds. With a run, the player must have not stepped out of bounds before the ball crosses the plane into he endzone.


If the football does not cross the plain is it a touchdown?

no , the tip of the ball must clearly cross the plane.


How much of the football has to cross the goal line?

If any part of the football crosses the plane of the goal line it is considered a touchdown.


Does the player have to cross the plane of the goal line to be a touchdown or just the football?

As long as the football crosses the plane of the goal line while legally under control in the ball carrier's possession, it's a touchdown regardless of where the player's body is (unless he goes out of bounds before the ball crosses the plane).


If a player catches the football while his feet are inside the goal line but the ball is not is it a touchdown?

The rules say that no matter where the player is, the ball MUST cross the plane of the end zone. NOTE: It was a touchdown today because the ball did cross the plane.

People also asked