answersLogoWhite

0

Basically, a runner may take any path he desires when running between bases (other than home to first). If he UNINTENTIONALLY interferes with a thrown ball, he is NOT out and the ball continues to be in play.

On the other hand, a runner may never INTENTIONALLY interfere with a fielder trying to throw the ball -- if he does so, he is out. This includes running in such a way as to INTENTIONALLY interfere with a ball that is thrown to home.

Note that a throw MUST be made -- if the fielder holds on to the ball, he can NOT claim he WOULD have thrown home but for the runner. Otherwise the fielder would just hold onto the ball and then claim interference.

There is no exact rule on how to decide a base runner's intent -- it's entirely the umpire's judgement.

"If a thrown ball hits a runner while running the bases, the runner is not out unless the umpire judges that the runner intentionally interfered, obstructed, hindered or confused the defense attempting to make a play."

"A fielder starts to throw and stops because a runner is in his way but no contact is made and no intentional acts are made by the runner to cause interference. This is not interference because the runner did not interfere with a play in progress"

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

What else can I help you with?

Related Questions

What happens if there is an infield fly rule with a runner on first only?

If there is an infield fly rule with a runner on first only, the batter is automatically out, regardless of whether the ball is caught or dropped by the fielder. The runner on first can advance at their own risk after the ball is caught or lands.


Why is there no infield fly rule when there is a runner on first base?

The infield fly rule is not in effect when there is a runner on first base because the purpose of the rule is to prevent the defense from intentionally dropping a pop-up to get a double play. With a runner on first, there is no opportunity for a double play, so the rule is not needed.


Is it scored as a fielders choice if the infield attempt to throw the runner at second out is unsuccessful?

Nope. It's a stolen base.


If you have a runner on first and a runner on third and the runner on first attempts to steal second at the same time the runner on third takes off and scores does the batter get the RBI?

ed Parker isn't


What happens when a fly ball hit to the first baseman is dropped with a runner on first base?

Nothing in your situation. Only maybe if there is less than two outs and at least another runner on second. If there is less than two outs, the infield fly rule applies. The runner should stay on first base. The batsman would be out anyway. That is the purpose of the infield fly rule. It was put in when Ty Cobb had a similar situation. He was playing short stop. There were runners on first and second. A batter hit a pop up toward him. He yelled, "I got it." The runners stayed on first and second. He dropped the ball. Tagged the runner on second. Stepped on the base, and threw the ball to first for a triple play. Then baseball put in the infield fly rule. If there is a popup in the infield with zero or 1 outs, and runners on base that would be forced out, the batter is out and the runner should not advance.


Is a running out at second base on a infield fly rule if the ball hits the runner while standing on the base?

No, as long as he is on the base he is safe


What is the ruling where the runner interferes with a fielder trying to catch an Infield Fly Rule Pop-up?

The runner is also out and the ball is dead. All runners go back to previous bases.


Is the runner allowed to steal a base before the pitcher throws?

No, the runner is not allowed to steal a base before the pitcher throws the ball.


When the infield fly rule is invoked can a runner be forced out when returning to his original base?

No, when the infield fly rule is invoked, runners cannot be forced out when returning to their original base. The rule is designed to protect the offense from the defense taking advantage of a caught fly ball in an infield situation. If the ball is declared an infield fly, the runners can advance at their discretion, and they cannot be forced out for returning to a base they previously occupied.


Can a baseball player catch an infield fly - where the ump has declared an infield fly - then throw to a base that a runner hasn't tagged up to yet and get a double play?

As soon as the ump calls the infield fly rule, the batter is out, but the runners can still advance at their own risk. To answer your question specifically, no, the fielder can't do that - that is the exact result that the infield fly rule was enacted to prevent! Usually when they call the infield fly rule, the baserunners go back to the bases relatively quickly, because the play is over.


If a runner who was called out on the infield fly rule passes the runner on first is it a double play?

No, it is not. The batter is immediately out, and he can have no further affect on the play, unless he interferes with a fielder attempting to make a play or assists one of the runners on base.


After laying down a bunt the batter clearly runs on the infield grass and is not inside the first baseline Is this interference and will he be called out?

This is Interference, but whether the runner is called out depends on what happens. A throw to 1st base where the runner interferes with the play is certainly grounds for them to be called out. Also if the throw to 1st base hits the runner in fair territory, they should be called out for interference. The fielder should throw to 1st base as if the runner were following the rules and running in foul territory. If they choose not to and move to allow the throw to reach 1st base without hitting the runner reaches safely, the umpires are allowed to interpret the rules as though the runner is either out or safe.