answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

it is where if the catcher drops the third strike pitched then the batter can run to first base.

HOpe this helps :)

User Avatar

Virginia Von

Lvl 10
2y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

17y ago

It speaks to the necessity of the defending team to maintain control of a ball in play. Actually, logic does have a lot to do with it. You have to complete the play in Baseball. That's one of the oldest rules. The catcher has to control the ball, or it is in play. The fielders have to control the ball on the catch, or the ball is in play. The rule is one of the oldest in baseball, predating the "walk" or "base on balls." Before the existence of the walk, batters were not compelled to swing at pitchers as they are today. (In fact, there once was a time when batters could tell the pitcher to throw the ball high or low.) After the second strike, however, umpires could declare a subsequent pitch "good," which would compel the batter to swing at the next potentially good pitch. (In other words, he was given one warning!) After two strikes, if a batter "stuck at" a good pitch -- that is, if he swung at it and missed -- or if he failed to swing at a good pitch after having been warned, the batter was declared out. It was called a "hand out." If, however, the catcher failed to hold on to the ball, it was as if the batter put the ball in play. Oddly enough, "striking out" was as good as putting the ball in play if the catcher failed to hold on to the ball. The old rule books said as much. When I find a link to an archaic rule book, I'll post it. The logic was -- and still is -- that the defense must be in control of the ball when retiring a batter or base runner.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

Anytime the ball hits the dirt on a 3rd strike it is considered a "dropped 3rd strike", even if it is executed as the pitcher and catcher wanted (ie. curveball in the dirt). On a dropped 3rd strike, the batter can try and advance by running to 1st base, as with any runner, the defensive team will need to tag the batter out or throw to 1st base. If the runner walks to the dugout, the umpire can call him outon his disgression.

The dropped 3rd strike rule does not apply if there is a runner on 1st base with less then 2 outs. If there are 2 outs, all runners required to run would be forced to advance and be safe for this rule to apply

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

First of all, I'm assuming you are referring to fast pitch softball. the rule is that the batter is automatically out with a third strike ball is not caught by the catcher AND when first base is occupied AND there are less than two outs. The runners are not forced to advance but they can run at their own risk. If they do choose to run, a tag is required since this is not a force play. If the catcher drops the third strike, the batter can run to first base. But, the catcher can throw to first and get them out.

This rule does not apply if there is a runner on first already, the batter just gets out.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

Second-life. An opportunity to run from the batter's box to First Base before the catcher can gather the ball and throw it to First. A tag on the runner is not required, merely touching the base while holding the ball. A dropped third strike provides a chance to turn an out into an on-base situation, thereby prolonging the inning, often a momentum changer.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

Because that is the rule- You'd have to ask the old timers that wrote the rule book??? It does give a batter a little life and a second chance after "nearly" striking out.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

it is where if the catcher drops the third strike pitched then the batter can run to first base.

HOpe this helps :)

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What was the reasoning of the dropped third pitch rule?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Does batter have to swing to be legal runner on a dropped third strike?

No he does not. He can take the pitch and if the catcher drops it or the ball gets by him the dropped third strike rule is in affect unless there is somone on first with less than 2 outs. If there are 2 outs the rule is in affect even with a runner on 1st.


Difference between inductive and deductive reasoning?

inductive reasoning is self propagation and self establishedinductive reasoning starts with empirical observations of specific phenomena, then establishes a general rule to fit the observed facts.deductive reasoning starts with a general rule, then applies that rule to a specific instance.


Why is a catcher missing a third strike not an out?

Plain and simple: it just isn't in baseball rules. It has existed at least since 1845. There is no more logic or reasoning to that rule than there is for the rule requiring nine innings instead of thirteen. It's just the rule. Catcher can drop the ball on a third strike, if firstbase is occupied.!!


Does a batter get a RBI on a wild pitch?

Good question. The only thing that would be close to a WILD PITCH RBI would be if the batter swung at the pitch for a third strike, which of course the catcher couldn't catch. There would have to be a runner on third, and the batter would have to be safe at first on the dropped third strike rule. I do not believe that this would truly be an RBI though, because technically, a dropped third strike is like a walk, the batter is not credited with a hit.


Can you run on a dropped third strike with the base occupied and two outs?

Yes, there is no uncaught third strike rule when there are two outs. Additionally, there is no infield fly rule when there are two outs. Both the uncaught third strike rule and infield fly rule are only in effect when there are zero or one outs.


Why does the batter get to run to first and is safe if 2 strikes and catcher misses a third strike?

Well, first of all, a dropped third strike is an out if the catcher's throw beats the runner. It's that way because that's just the rule.


Does Deductive reasoning involves developing a general rule from specific situations?

No


What are the 10 ways to reach first base safely?

1) Base hit 2) Ground rule double 3) Base on balls 4) Hit by pitch 5) Fielder's choice 6) Error 7) Catcher interference with a swing 8) Fielder obstruction while running to first 9) Umpire interference 10) Dropped third strike


Does inductive reasoning involve applying a general rule to a specific situation?

No, inductive reasoning involves reaching a general conclusion based on specific observations or evidence. It moves from specific instances to a general principle, unlike deductive reasoning which applies a general rule to specific situations.


A general rule used to explain a specific event is called?

A.deductive reasoning


The legal rule that the court utilizes or announces to decide the case is called the?

Reasoning


What is the basic difference between rule based and consequences based ethical reasoning?

Rule-based ethical reasoning focuses on following established principles or rules to determine the ethicality of an action, while consequences-based ethical reasoning assesses actions based on their outcomes or consequences. Rule-based ethics relies on pre-determined guidelines, whereas consequences-based ethics considers the impact of an action on stakeholders.