Best Answer

Notre Dame

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-01-11 00:19:15
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
See all Study Guides
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What state was the first to win back to back national championships in college football?
Write your answer...
Related questions

Most College football championships?

Princeton claims 28 national championships since 1869, the first season of college football. However, since 1936 (when the AP Poll began), both Alabama and Notre Dame are tied with 8 consensus titles.

How many national championships has lsu won?

LSU has won 4 national championships, 1908,1958,2003, and 2007. They were the first college to win 2 BCS National Championships.

What year did the Texas longhorns win their first national championship in football?

The first was in 1963. They also won national championships in football in 1969, 1970 and 2005.

When did notore dame when its first national college football championship?

Notre Dame won its first College Football National Championship in 1924.

What college has won the second most national championships all sports?

Stanford, with 99 total national championships. UCLA is first with 106, and USC is third with 91.

Which college football team won the first ncaa football championship?

In 1869 Princeton and Rutgers split the college football National Championship. The first consensus (Coaches' and Media polls) National Championship was Oklahoma in 1950.

How many national championships in football does Alabama really have?

so first of all they don't count their national championships like any other schools they claim a lot of them.Actually, Alabama has 8, Maybe 9 LEGIT national championships they have claimed about 5 so they do not ave 13,14,15 etc they have 8-9

When is college football's National Signing Day?

National Signing Day is usually the first Wednesday in February.

What Schools have multiple national championships in football and basketball?

I don't know the complete list, but I do know that Michigan State was the first D-1 university to win two championships in both basketball and football. Florida is another one.

What Year Was Football Founded?

The first American football game was a college game played in 1869. The National Football League was established in 1920.

Which college has most national championships?

UCLA has recently celebrated the "First to 100" national titles. So, at least for right now, UCLA has won the most national titles overall.

Which team won the most lacrosse championships?

In college lacrosse, Johns Hopkins has won 44 national championships -- 35 of these were earned prior to the first NCAA Division I tournament in 1971.

What was the year that Notre Dame won its first National College Football Championship?


What ncaa conference have the most national championships?

Across all sports, the Pac-12 has more national championships than any other conference. In college football, it is difficult to determine which conference has more national championships than another for several reasons. First, teams shift conference affiliations from time to time. For example, Nebraska won three national titles int he 1990s as a member of the Big 12, but Nebraska is now a member of the Big Ten. The Big Ten now claims the titles as having been won by a member institution even though the titles were not won when Nebraska was a member institution. Additionally, there have often been multiple claimants to the title of "national champion" in any given season. As the NCAA does not award a championship of its own in the Divison I-FBS category, it has been historically left to the polls to decide the "national champion." Finally, the long history of college football leads to early skewed numbers when relatively few teams participated. Princeton and Yale, no longer part of the top division of college football, claim 44 national championships between the two schools. Add eight from Harvard, six from Penn, three from Cornell and one from Dartmouth would mean the Ivy League far and away has more championships (62) than any other conference. Then again, the Ivy League has not won a "major" college football championship since 1935 (Princeton).

How many national championships have nick saban won in college?

3 he won his first with LSU 2003Then 2 with ALABAMA the 2009 and 2011

How many national championships does Alabama have in football?

As of 2011, Alabama has 14 national championships. Recently they just beat LSU 21-0, which means they obviously get the title. They beat everyone they played except LSU the first time, but since they beat them so badly, they get all the awards.

Has a coach ever won a National Championship in College football their first year as a coach?

woody hayes

Can you sign a letter of intent after the football signing day deadline?

Yes, National Signing Day is the first day a high school senior can sign a National Letter of Intent for college football.

Was football played in the 1950s?

Yes. The first college football game was played in 1879. The National Football League was formed in 1920. Football was very much a part of the way of life in the 1950s.

Is University of Florida the first to win National Championships in Basketball and Football in the same year?

Yes, not only were they first to win both in the same year, but they were also the first team to have held both at the same time.

How many National Championships have the LSU Tigers won in football?

Three times: 1958, 2003, 2007. LSU is the first team to win the BCS Championship twice.

Where did the first European football championships take place?


Who won the first college football national championship playoff?

The Ohio State Buckeyes on January 12, 2015.

When did Missouri tigers football win the national championship?

no The Missouri Tigers is the name of the football team of the University Of Missouri in Columbia, Missouri. The college's first football team was formed in 1890 by the sophomore class of the "Academic School" (now the College of Arts and Science). The first intercollegiate game played by the Tigers was on Thanksgiving Day in 1890 against Washington University, who had already been playing for several years. The Tigers lost 28-0. While the Missouri Tigers have won 15 Conference Championships since that time, they have never won a National Championship.

For the first time since 1897 the college football team that won more championships than any other got off to a 0-4 start?

Notre Dame