Best Answer

The batter

User Avatar

Alfonso Mills

Lvl 10
2y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What player takes position in the batters box?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What are Jackie Robinson's superstitions?

Jackie Robinson's biggest superstition was not stepping into the batters box until the catcher was in position and ready for the pitch.

What is the umpires decision if the batter steps out of the box whilst batting?

MLB Rule 6.02 is pretty clear:The batter shall take his position in the batters box promptly when it is his time at bat.(b) The batter shall not leave his position in the batters box after the pitcher comes to Set Position, or starts his windup.PENALTY: If the pitcher pitches, the umpire shall call Ball or Strike, as the case may be."The official commentary on this rule says even more: "Umpires may grant a hitters request for Time once he is in the batters box, but the umpire should eliminate hitters walking out of the batters box without reason. If umpires are not lenient, batters will understand that they are in the batters box and they must remain there until the ball is pitched."Unless an umpire agrees to call, "Time" at the request of the batter, the pitcher may pitch at will, and the umpire can call a strike if the pitcher throws the ball down the middle of the plate without a batter there. If a batter refuses a request to re-enter the box, the umpire can call a strike even without a pitch.

What is the area of the batters circle minus the area of each batters box and catchers box and umpire box?

17 degrees kelvin

High school rules are being used in this situation. If you have one foot in the batters box and the othere foot out of it are you in or out of the batters box?

you are in the box, you have to call for time.

How do you score an out when a player gets hit by ball afterbunting while in batters box?

First of all a player cannot be called out if s/he is hit with a bunt while still in the batters box. That is declared a foul ball. If the person bunts the ball with two strikes and is hit in the batter's box with the ball after bunting then is is ruled a strikeout. It is ruled a strikout if you ever bunt the ball foul with two strikes.

If it takes Ashley 3 seconds to run from the batters box to first baser at an average speed velocity of 6.5 meters per secondwhat is the distance she covers in that time?


Batter hits the ball with one foot out of the batters box?

If the batter makes contact with a batted ball while in the batter's box, it is a "dead" ball and declared foul. ---------- True enough, sort of. If a batted ball touches the batter while he is still in the batter's box, then it is foul. However, if the batter hits the ball, and it comes to rest in the batter's box or the batted ball is touched by a defensivce player while it is in the batter's box, and the ball did not touch the batter, it is either fair or foul, depending on the position of the ball at the time it came to rest or was touched by a defensive player. The front portion of the batter's box is in fair territory, and if a batted ball comes to rest or is touched by a defensive player in that part of the batter's box, then it's a fair ball.

How big is the batters box?

6ft x 4ft

What do they chalk the batters box with?

It is usually powdered lime.

Does a batter who enters a batters box left handed and takes a strike can he change back to right handed during his at bat?

Yes the batter can switch as often as he would like. It just has to be after the strike.

Is batter out of batters box if he has not touched ground on contact of ball?


A batted ball comes to rest in batters box is it foul or fair?

Most of the batter's box is in foul territory, but some of it is in fair territory, so it depends where the batted ball comes to rest.