Best Answer

The Kentucky Derby is the first leg of the Triple Crown, a horse that wins the Kentucky Derby, The Preakness, and the Belmont Stakes becomes the Triple Crown Winner

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-05-03 17:34:57
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
See all Study Guides
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is the triple crown winner in the Kentucky Derby?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Why is the Kentucky Derby so important?

Because it is the first race in the Triple Crown and if a horse wins it then there is a possibility for a Triple Crown winner.

Was mine that bird a triple crown winner?

No. He won the Kentucky Derby, but lost in the Preakness and the Belmont.

Which horse won the 1973 Kentucky Derby?

The 1973 Kentucky Derby winner was SecretariatThat was Secretariat who went in to become the 9th Triple Crown Champion.

What year did War Admiral run in the Kentucky Derby?

War Admiral was the 1937 Triple Crown winner.

What horse was the last triple crown winner?

Affirmed won the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness and the Belmont Stakes in 1978.

Which is the first race of the triple crown?

The Kentucky Derby.

What is the Kentucky Derby used for?

Thoroughbred horse racing is the general use of the Kentucky Derby. The specific use within that general purpose is its role in determining the Triple Crown winner each year. The Triple Crown goes to the horse that manages to win the Belmont and the Preakness, in addition to the Derby.

What is the name of the horse that was the last triple crown winner?

Seattle Slew who passed away on the day of the Kentucky Derby in 2002

What are the preakness the Kentucky Derby and the belmont stakes called?

They are referred to as the Triple Crown. If a horse wins all three races in one year, he is called the Triple Crown winner.

What is the prize money for the Triple Crown winner?

American Pharoh, the winner of the 2016 Triple Crown, won a total of $2.94 million. The winnings include $1.24 million for the Kentucky Derby and $900,000 for the Preakness Stakes.

When was the first derby started?

The first derby of the triple crown started in 1875 which is the Kentucky Derby.

When was the first Triple Crown Race?

It is called the Kentucky Derby.

Which three races make up the triple crown in the Kentucky Derby?

The Kentucky Derby is the first race in the Triple Crown. The Preakness in Maryland and the Belmont Stakes in New York are the other two races in the Triple Crown.

What was the first triple crown race?

The first leg of the three part Triple Crown is the Kentucky Derby.

What are the races in the triple crown?

There are three legs in the triple crown, *The Kentucky Derby *Belmont Stakes *Preakness

What is a 1978 Kentucky Derby 2 dollar winning ticket uncashed worth affirmed last triple crown winner?


When is triple crown?

The Triple Crown is a combination of three races The Kentucky Derby, The Preakness Stakes and the Belmont Stakes

What are the release dates for The Triple Crown of Racing - 1973 The Kentucky Derby 1-1?

The Triple Crown of Racing - 1973 The Kentucky Derby 1-1 was released on: USA: 5 May 1973

What are the three races of the triple crown?

belmont stakes preakness kentucky derby.

Which race in the Triple Crown did ManOWar not win due to not participating?

The Kentucky Derby

What year did secretariat win the Kentucky Derby?

1973, along with the Triple Crown.

What three races make the triple crown?

The U.S Triple Crown races are: Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, Belmont Stakes.

What are the three triple crown races and in which order?

The kentucky derby The Preakness stakes The Belmont stakes. In that order. :)

In what order do they run the triple crown?

Kentucky Derby Preakness Stakes Belmont Stakes

Where are the 3 triple crown races?

The Kentucky Derby, the Preakness Stakes and the Belmont Stakes.