A runner, or runners, may advance in several ways; stealing, wild pitch, passed ball, wild throw in pick off attempt, catcher interference with batter, balk, fielder interference with base runner, error by fielder on attempted steal, error on catcher on throw on attempted steal.
Walk, interference from the catcher when the batter was trying to swing at a pitch, by being hit by a pitch, or by swinging and missing at the third strike and the catcher doesn't catch the ball. The batter can then run towards first base but has to beat the throw to be able to be considered safe.
- Hit by Pitch
- Dropped 3rd strike
- Catcher interference
- Fielders Choice
In order to reach base without making contact, a batter could draw a walk, get hit by a pitch, be intentionally walked, or reach first on a passed ball after a strike out (i.e., batter swings and misses, and catcher drops the ball, allowing the batter to reach first base, if first base is free).
Without collecting a hit, a batter can also reach first on a fielding error or a fielder's choice, which means that a fielder decided to attempt a defensive play at a base other than first base, allowing the batter to reach first base.
You missed a Wild Pitch - wild pitches and passed balls are scored separately.
As long as the pitcher is the last person to touch the ball before the batter is hit, the ball becomes dead and is counted as a hit by pitch. The runners can only advance if they are forced over by the hit batter.
If a "Balk" is called, all runners on base advance to the next base.
No. A sacrifice is when the batter turns around to bunt and lets everyone on the defense know what they are going to do. The batter is 'sacrificing' (allowing the defense to get him/her out) so the runners can advance one base.
No, when a ball is hit on the ground, the runners must try and advance to the next base.
Not unless the next batter gets a walk as well. Runners can only move on base hits or walks.
FORCE RUN: A runner does not have to advance to the next base unless someone is behind him/her running to the base that the first runner is on. If there is a runner, and you are forced to advance to the next base, it is a forced run. For example, a batter hits the ball and safely runs to second base (making sure to step on 1st base). The next batter hits the ball but only runs to first base. The first runner therefore does not have to run to third base. Now there are two runners on bases and the next hit would make both runners run to the next base. When runners are forced to run, the fielders only have to throw the ball to the next base with somebody catching it. If a runner runs at will (that is not being forced to run), then the fielder must touch the player with ball and not just the base. If not a forced run, you have to tag the runner. If it is a forced run, you tag the base.
The runners stay on base unless: if it's strike 3, out 3, the inning is over and runners leave the field and switch to defense as long as the game isn't over; if it's a wild pitch and not strike 3, out 3, the runners can advance at their own risk; if it's strike 3 and not out 3 and the catcher fails to catch the ball, all runners (including the batter) can run to the next base
because without one all the runners on base would be able to score on a high pop up on the infield the tag up rule is a compromise between that situation and not allowing the runners to advance at all after a ball is caught
no cause if it is a hit, or a walk, you are going to have to move to the next base.
Yes, in Major League Baseball, all players need to advance to their next base with the bases loaded and the batter being hit regardless of the runner that is on third base being the winning run and therefore being the ending of the current game that's being played.
No, he can advance by stealing the base, or advance on a wild pitch, passed ball, catcher interference or a pitcher's balk.
The catcher needs to catch the ball because the ball is still a "live" ball. (Unless it's a foul ball that the catcher wouldn't likely catch that anyway. Any base runners may advance when the ball is "live" at their peril. If the ball is not caught, there isn't much peril to runners running to the next base.
In the event of a batted ball being hit on the fly and was caught by an Infielder or Outfielder on the fly before it hit the ground, it will be ruled as a Fly Out and in the event of there being no outs, one out or two outs and in the event of there being runners on base, runners will have to return to their original bases prior to the pitched ball before they can advance to the next base.