answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Just because a batter spins to avoid the pitch and in doing so happens to move his bat across the plate does not mean that he swung at or attempted to hit the pitch - even if the bat passes completely over the plate. If the pitch is not in the strike zone and if the umpire judges that the batter was attempting to avoid getting hit rather than attempting to bunt at (or swing at) the pitch, he is hit by the pitch. The ball is dead and the batter is entitled to first base. If the umpire ruled that he was attempting to strike at the pitch when the pitch hit him, the ball is dead and the pitch is ruled a strike. No runners can advance. If the pitch is in the strike zone when the batter is hit, then the ball is dead and the pitch is ruled a strike. No runners can advance.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-05-25 15:36:14
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What happens when the batter gets hit by the pitch while trying to bunt?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If a batter is hit by a pitch after the ball hits his bat while trying to get out of the way of the pitch and not swinging or bunting at it does the batter go to first base?

No. If the ball hits the batter's bat first there can be no call of hit by pitched ball. Added: It is actually a foul ball and a strike.


What happens if a batter is hit in the arm by a ball while swinging?

If the batter is hit in the arm while swinging and he misses the ball the call is a strike.


If a batter steps out of the batters box while the pitcher is delivering a pitch is it an automatic strike?

no


If a catcher hits a batter with the ball while trying to throw a runner out at third is the runner out?

If the batter showed signs of trying to move out of the way to give the catcher a clear lane to throw then neither the batter or the runner it out. If the batter did not move at all to provide the catcher a throwing lane, then the batter is out, but the runner is safe.


Can a batter switch hit after a pitch has been made in MLB?

Yes, a batter can change from one side of the plate to the either during his at-bat, but he cannot do it once the pitcher is ready to pitch. Rule 6.06(b) states: A batter is out for illegal action when stepping from one batter's box to the other while the pitcher is in position ready to pitch.


What is the rule about getting hit by a pitch in softball?

If the batter gets hit by a pitch while inside the batters box, then they are awarded first base. However, if the batter makes no attempt to avoid getting hit, the umpire can rule the pitch a ball and the at bat continues.


When at bat is it a foul ball if the batter is hit by the pitch on the hands?

If the ball strikes the bat handle and then the hands it is a foul ball. If the ball strikes the batter on the hands he is awarded first base, provided the pitch is not in the strike zone and the batter has made an attempt to avoid the ball. A batter is not entitled to first base if he is hit with a pitch while attempting to hit the ball.


What is the ruling for ASA fast pitch softball on a batter hitting the ball but the ball hits her hand as she hits the ball to the infield?

According to the rule book, the umpire will declare the pitch a strike if the ball touches the batter as the batter strikes at the ball, or if the ball touches the batter while the ball is in the strike zone.


If batter hit on hand while bunting does he walk?

If the batter is hit while still holding the bat across the plate attempting to bunt, then it is called a strike. But, if the batter pulls back the bat and gets hit by the pitch then he goes to first with a HBP.


If the batter swings and the ball hits his hand?

If the batter swings and the ball hits anywhere but the bat the pitch is called a strike. Even if it hits the person batting, while swinging, but if he is bunting and gets hit it is not a strike There is no rule that states that if a batter is attempting to bunt and a pitched ball hits him that the pitch is anything but a strike. In short, if a batter is hit during any type of swing, the pitch is ruled a strike.


Is it a foul ball if a ball hits a batters hand while on the bat?

If the batter was swinging it is a strike...if the batter was not swinging, then they are deemed to have been "hit by pitch" and are awarded first base.


What happens if the catcher hits the bat with the ball while attempting to throw out a runner?

If the batter was in the batter's box and did not make an intentional motion with the bat to block the catcher then nothing happens. The ball is still live and in play

People also asked