Best Answer

If the batter is hit while still holding the bat across the plate attempting to bunt, then it is called a strike. But, if the batter pulls back the bat and gets hit by the pitch then he goes to first with a HBP.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
User Avatar

Erick Cobourn

Lvl 1
3y ago
Dead ball strike. No walk.

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If batter hit on hand while bunting does he walk?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

In major league baseball if batter gets hit on the hand is it a walk?

No, it is called a 'hit by pitch' and shows up in the box score as HBP.It is similar to a walk in that the batter is awarded first base.

When was Walk Hand in Hand created?

Walk Hand in Hand was created in 1956.

What would get you a walk in baseball?

If the pitcher throws four "balls", the batter is awarded first base (a "walk"). Sometimes, the batter is intentionallywalked as a strategic move. And if the pitcher hits the batter with a pitch, the batter is awarded first base, although that is not usually called a walk.

Flirting moves for girls?

when walking past the guy grab his hand while u walk away. give him little flirty winks and smiles. when walking past the guy grab his hand while u walk away. give him little flirty winks and smiles.

Can you walk 3 times in a game?

Yes, a batter can walk on every at bat.

Can you walk on batter?

Only if it's funny

Can a batter advance to second base on a walk when the pitch was not wild before the pitch to the next batter?

yes, the ball is not dead on a walk, the batter is free to try to advance to second and risk being put out

How many balls did it take to walk a batter before 1880?

At the beginning of the National League in 1876, nine balls were needed to walk a batter.

Is the batter out if the pitcher accidentally hits the ball to the batter?

No when the batter gets hit by the ball it is called and walk and the batter gets to go to first base

Can a batter swing during an intentional walk?

Yes, there are no rules in baseball stating what kind of pitch a batter may swing at. It wouldn't be wise to swing at a pitch thrown during an intentional walk, but if the batter wanted to it would be legal.

Does a batter advance to first on a walk?

Yes, he does. A batter is walked as a result of gaining four balls, or bad pitches. After getting four balls, they are allowed to walk to first base.

Can you pick up your hamster while he is eating or will he bite you?

Most likely he won't but he will be a little confused. You should get a treat and set it on the palm of your hand and see if he will walk onto your hand. Hope I helped!