There may be some local variations to speed play, but generally the penalty is "stroke and distance." This means that you add a penalty stroke to your score and hit the ball again from where the original ball was struck. The player has the option of hitting a provisional ball as well.
If you hit your first ball (1 off the tee) say you think you have lost it in the tree etc or out of bounds you hit your provisonal (3 off the tee), if you now have hit this ball out of bounds you play another provisonal (5 off the tee, your next shot will be 6). If you are playing a stroke play competition, unless you are going to NR you will have to keep going till you get one in play and complete the hole. If you are playing a stableford competition you would simply ding the hole and move on.
Stroke and distance. That means if you hit it OB (defined by white stakes) you must add one penalty stroke to your score and play your next stroke from the same spot on the course that you originally hit it out of bounds from....it's a bummer for sure..lol
If the ball finishes in bounds, there is no penalty, even if the ball travels out of bounds and somehow moves back in bounds.
If the ball finishes on the out of bounds line (which is usually marked by white posts, or a fence) , it is deemed to be out of bounds, and you must replay your previous shot. You still have to count the out-of-bounds shot in your score, and there is also a one stroke penalty for hitting the ball out of bounds.
You must play another shot from the exact same place where you played the previous one from, and you receive a one shot penalty.
A one-stroke penalty is given, and the ball must be played from the previous spot before the ball was hit out of bounds.
One shot penalty and you must replay the previous shot.
It's a one stroke penalty.
No, not in golf
You hit a provisional when the ball you just hit might be lost outside of a hazard. Usually that means you think you have hit it out of bounds or into some sort of mess where it's unlikely that you will find it. Hitting a provisional means that you are taking stroke and distance IF you don't find your first ball. If you find your first ball anywhere in play (whether or not you like where it is or even if it's unplayable) before you hit your provisional after reaching where the ball is likely to be, then the provisional is cancelled and you continue with your first ball, just as though you never hit the provisional. Once you've reached the point where your ball probably is and hit the provisional again, you're stuck with the provisional and the stroke and distance penalty that you took. This is covered in Rule 27-2, see www.usga.org. There are many interesting decisions related to this one, mostly about what constitutes a "lost" ball.
This stands for out of bounds. It is an area of the golf course or off the golf course which is not in play. If you hit your ball out of bounds, you cannot play your next shot from there, you must re-hit your shot from the place you originally played from. There is a one shot penalty for hitting out of bounds.
Out of bounds stakes are always white.
the awmsksas is poo
get another one!
He gets hit in the head with a golf ball
Out of bounds is the strictest rule in golf, and often the harshest. You have to replay the ball from the exact same place you just played that shot from. So if you are on the tee and hit one out of bounds, you tee it up again and you are now playing your third shot off the tee (This includes the one shot penalty). If you are in the fairway and hit it out of bounds, you replay it from as close as possible to where the original was hit from.
If you just hit a ball out of bounce from the tee box or if you don't know if you did you can call for a provisional ball. You would hit your second shot from the tee box "your provisional shot" and see if you can find the first ball. If you can't and your provisional ball is in play then you have play provisional ball and you accrue a 1 shot penalty stroke also. If you find your first shot off of the tee then you pick up your provisional ball and play your first tee shot. No penalty if you find your first tee shot and you can play it. So, the second shot from the tee box would be considered a provisional shot.
Lose a stroke