This is the 'count.' It is represented visually as 'number of balls-number of strikes,' B-S. It is spoken as balls, strikes. So, if there are two balls and one strike the count is written '2-1' and spoken 'two, one.' A batter is considered 'ahead in the count' if the number of balls is greater than the number of strikes as in the above example and 'behind in the count' if the number of strikes is greater. For the pitcher, this is reversed. A count is considered 'full' when the maximum number of balls and strikes have been thrown without resulting in a walk or a strikeout: 3-2.
Batters in 1884 were allotted seven balls and four strikes.
balls the first number is balls and the second number is Strikes
Well, they are called balls, strikes, outs, and walks.
it is called a "full" count.
Two strikes, three balls.
It's called a "full count."
When an umpire calls a full count, that means the batter has 3 balls and 2 strikes. A full count (3-2) is the highest number of balls and strikes a batter can get before he is either awarded a base (on balls) or is out (on strikes).
No, the number of balls and strikes stays the same when the new pitcher comes in.
It's a full count
It's nothing special, except for an "even count." It's called "even" when the balls and strikes are the same number. You may be asking what it's called when there are 3 balls and 2 strikes, which would then be called a "full count." The very next pitch has different nicknames, such as the "payoff pitch" or the "money pitch" because, unless it's a foul ball, the next pitch is going to benefit one of the teams in some way.
Unlimited number of foul balls. They all count as strikes until you have 2 strikes, then they don't mean a thing...
Yes the first two foul balls are strikes unless there aree two strikes. A batter can not strike out on foul balls.